We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood Park

Holyrood Park
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$19.80*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #16 of 375 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Holyrood Park is a unique historic landscape in the heart of the city, whose dramatic crags and hills give Edinburgh its distinctive skyline. Within the park is a wealth of history and archaeology spanning thousands of years. Arthur's Seat is one of four hill forts, dating from around 2,000 years ago. As well as it's rich cultural heritage, the park offers walks, solace, wildlife, volcanic geology and unparalleled vistas of the city from its many vantage points.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Large Royal residence where the public are allowed to visit & view galleries with an audio tour informing visitors of exhibits

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    525
    79
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not just a park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rolling lawns with lots of space for many to hang out, some rough scrub for the dogs to play in, an easy walk up the Salisbury Crags for a truly spectacular view across Edinburgh, or more of a climb up Arthur's Seat if you're not scared of slipping on mud! What a great place to relax, play, keep fit...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredible Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I hiked up the trails at Holyrood one morning during my trip. It was definitely an experience!

The first leg is pretty tough! I had to use my umbrella as a quasi-walking stick :p but it was still a lot of fun. I was there in mid-September so I ended up stopping a lot on my trek up to take pictures of flowers, snails, the scenery, etc.

It flattens out later on, and the scenery becomes much more dramatic. You can see all the other peaks of the flatlands as well as Edinburgh Castle and the water in the far distance.

There were plenty of people (tourists and locals) out hiking as well, and it was a lovely, congenial atmosphere.

I spent a good three hours there. Hiking up at a leisurely place, strolling around the peak to take pictures, and stopping to write a short story about Fairies on my way down :p

A definite must-see when in Edinburgh.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Layla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extrodinary views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

You must give yourself time to stroll around while you are in Edinburgh. There is so much history here. And of course it it is beautifully manicured.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SallyFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Royal Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very interesting place to visit, especially if you are interested in Scottish history. The free audio guide is well worth using. We had a nice hot meal in the cafe too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyrood Park also viewed

 

Been to Holyrood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing