We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never had a chance to try the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Broadsheet Bistro

Broadsheet Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Broadsheet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,824 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: The Broadsheet Bistro came under new management in July 2013. We have introduced a locally sourced menu freshly prepared on the premises. We also have a private dining area suitable for up to thirty guests with fantastic views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street Gardens. We are located five minutes from Waverly train station and just off the Royal Mile
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never had a chance to try the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Came in for breakfast as we were staying in the Frasers Suites (which is excellent)
But after waiting more than 30 minutes breakfast had still not arrived
Disorganised Chaos

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveHunter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    26
    33
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vastly Underated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a meal here on 4/8 prior to going to late Tattoo show. Had a table in the lower section - excellent and able to watch the world go by outside.Food and service was excellent. Would certainly go back and recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Broadsheet Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I can't praise this restaurant enough. The location is great: just off the mound, the food was superb, the service was fantastic and great value for money.The restaurant had a good feeling to it and the atmosphere would suit any occasion whither a family celebration or a romantic meal with your partner. I'm planning on returning in the next couple of weeks to share the restaurant with a larger group of people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

From the outside Broadsheet promises much , but we were very disappointed with the quality of the food given the price. 5 of us were presented with a choice of just 3 rolls of bread to start ! It set the tone - a mediocre starter, poor main. I rarely bring myself to comment on this site but such was the standard I felt I had to let people now. Amazed that others give it 5 ! Perhaps there are 2 chefs and it luck which you get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel191278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good bistro food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We decided to eat here as we were staying at the Fraser Suites, despite having seen a couple of dodgy reviews. Can't think that these people had eaten at the same place! The food was good, especially a very nice Cullen Skink starter, salmon main course and Cranachan dessert. Also the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CANDJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadsheet Bistro also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Broadsheet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing