We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Birthday Meal”
Review of Delhi Diner

Delhi Diner
Ranked #466 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Delhi Diner restaurant serves up traditional Indian and Bengali cuisine in the Mayfield area of Edinburgh. Experienced chefs pride themselves on bringing all the flavours of India to the table, with a special focus on Delhi influences; the extensive menu features all of your curry house favourites, as well as a range of more exotic and unusual dishes. There's definitely something for every palate here ��� flavours range from sweet, sour, spicy and rich and creamy - including a wide choice of vegetarian dishes. Diners rate the tasty food and particularly recommend the tandoori. If you can't decide on just one, the mixed tandoori offers you a bit of everything - tandoori chicken, lamb tikka, chicken kebab, king prawn and sheek kebab, all served with mint sauce and salad. With its welcoming atmosphere and friendly service, Delhi Diner is the perfect place to relax after a hard day ��� just order up, kick back, and take your taste buds on a trip around India.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birthday Meal”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The service was outstanding and the food was better than outstanding. Lovely atmosphere, would definitely recommend it. It's worth the 200 mile trip and will come back again next time we are in Edinburgh.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumel M, Owner at Delhi Diner, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review and i am delighted you enjoyed your meal at delhi diner and looking forward to seeing you when you are back in edinburgh. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    40
    11
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great carry out”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Have been using this restaurant for carry out/ delivery for last couple of months and find it great. Food usually arrives pretty promptly and hot. Cannot understand earlier bad review as this is not our experience. Food very tasty, good varied menu to suit all our tastes. It is quite close by so don't anticipate having to use any other Indian carry out for foreseeable future. Now just need to find the Chinese equivalent!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Edinsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumel M, Owner at Delhi Diner, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking thetime to write this lovely review and i am delighted you enjoy your meals from here and we always try to deliver food on time and hot, ready to eat. Looking forward to hearing from you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“New Local Favourite!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Saturday night and in need of a decent Indian meal we checked out Trip Advisor and found the Delhi Diner....not 2 minutes away from where we live! Ordered online and my partner collected our choices. Delicious King Prawn Biryani, Lamb Jaipuri, Bombay Aloo and Garlic Naan. Great portion sizes, lamb beautifully cooked, plenty of prawns in a tasty sauce. We will definitely be ordering again! A great find!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SeonsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumel M, Owner at Delhi Diner, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write us a great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal. we use the freshest and finest ingredients at delhi diner and looking forward to hearing from you, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“try it, first class food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant is a real find and credit to trip advisor and those who have found this restaurant before me. I have eaten at a lot of indian restaurants including several trips to india, this is really good food, well cooked, light and fresh, not heavy, spicey but yet not buring hot. From outside and even inside you find a small diner style restaurant but dont be fooled the food is as good as any 5 star indian restaurant, give it a try. I dont live in edinburgh but cant wait to pay another visit.. thanks

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Niall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumel M, Owner at Delhi Diner, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. we are delighted you enjoyed dinning at delhi diner and we are looking forward to seeing you again when you are back in edinburgh. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worst indian in years, avoid...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Decided to give it a try after all the fuss on trip advisor and really shouldn't have bothered. We ordered some pakoras and lamb curry and found it very bland, over creamy, just about warm enough to be eaten and badly presented, no value for money at all. Service was very slow despite the fact the restaurant was almost empty.The only positive point is the nan bread, that was actually tasty, for anything else, avoid this place, its quite terrible, go spend your money somewhere else, there are much better indian's in town, will definitely not return. Don't understand why this place has so many excellent reviews.... a fantasy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank CP87_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Diner also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Delhi Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing