We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spooky!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Edinburgh Ghost Tour

New Edinburgh Ghost Tour
Ranked #84 of 194 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spooky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was an awesome tour. It was very educational on the history of Scotland but also very SPOOKY! SPOOKY! SPOOKY!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    9
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Edinburgh ghost tour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

situated outside starbucks you ll find a ghost walk tour ..avoid this tour its a waste of money. this is no reflection upon our guide perfectly pleasant young woman but the trail that had been planned and the script she'd been given was dreadful. firstly if you have any difficulty walking avoid this tour you're taken on a long and almost unconnected trail. firstly top of a close. ..un related story to the place. ...then a court yard. ..again unrelated tail... long walk to a very interesting cemetery pity we weren't taken here for the tails. ..then s very long walk to vaults. ..erm ...now used as cellar to pub. ..unconvincingly given higher haunted credentials which may have worked if sweet wrappers and seats had been there with dim light and ghost story....the sudden raised voice used throughout this walk was as subtle as a hammer and didnt have the effect ..enjoyed my stay but this tour was a rip off...and two friends who had mobility difficulties found this incredibly difficult. no pre warning was offered on purchase if the tour ...surprisingly... erm .....money in pocket

Helpful?
1 Thank sushikim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
“Fantastic Tour with Alain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Alain was our tour guide for this tour, and he was amazing! Well-informed and a great storyteller. This tour is great if you like the gruesome many parts of Edinburgh's history. It covers places not seen on the free tour, and there was no overlap with the stories either! No gimmicks, no cheezy costumes, just genuinely scary stories, and some great views of the city! At the end of the tour, they give a discount to one of their affiliated pubs, which is actually a really nice place!
Thank you, Alain!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Santos_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Informative Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went on the free walking tour in the morning and had such a great experience that we wanted to try another walking tour. This tour was recommended to us as one that is more historical and informative and that's exactly what we were looking for. If you're looking for a corny ghost tour where things jump out at you this is not it. This is a fun and really intelligently written and led tour. There wasn't a borning moment to be had. We found out a lot of additional information about Edinbugh. Our tour guide was Eoin who, as mentioned in other reviews, is a great storyteller. It was pouring rain and he still managed to lead a great tour all while not even wearing a rain jacket and getting presumably soaked. This is a tour for anyone who wants to know more about Edinburgh and see some interesting views as well. We were able to walk to some sites that we hadn't gotten to on our own yet all while hearing some really interesting and even creepy stories. Take this tour if you want a little something different and learn more about this great city. Remember to bring a rain jacket if there's even a hint of rain, it will make your experience more enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Scary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The only problem is the weather so please bring waterproofs ! Its a great way to learn about the history of Edinburgh and a perfect way too have a laugh with friends and get spooked ! The staff are really friendly and easy to get along with .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katiana906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Edinburgh Ghost Tour also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to New Edinburgh Ghost Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing