We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Place Apartments
Ranked #24 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We came up from Harrogate for a long weekend. When we arrived, we were able to check in early. This was great as we may have overpacked slightly. Apartment was nice, not as big as expected but with only 2 of us it was plenty. The apartment was well equipped and the bed was so nice we didnt want to leave it. Would recommend to anyone as only a 10 minute walk to the centre. We will be staying again if we are up that way again :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Israar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    99
    39
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
94
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked up for these apartments for Valentines Day as all hotels were very expensive and I am so glad we did, well worth the £74 we paid for the night! They were very easy to find, just approx 8 minutes from the Royal Mile which was handy for what we had planned for the day. The staff were super helpful at Reception and available 24 hours. The room was amazing, we didn't want to leave. It was spotless and you had everything you would need for a day or even a week staying there. The bed was very comfy and the room was pretty spacious. Only thing I would be a bit worried about would be sleeping on the sofa bed as it's a bit wobbly but thankfully there were only two of us! We were at the end of the corridor so it was very quiet and we had a great nights sleep. Definitely booking up for the next time we are in Edinburgh, and already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: If the superior studio apartment is roughly the same price as a normal room, book it, well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in these apartments when visiting for The Calcutta Cup. The place was clean and functional and perfectly adequate as a place to get your head down for the night.
The bed was very comfortable although one side of it was up against a wall so not the best of access for both people!!
The kitchen was well equipped although there was only one tea bag!!
It was quite expensive but then this weekend always is given the rugby.
Would use again and as others have said - the guys on reception are very friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizG10959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed in these apartments in December. Everything would have been correct (location, equipment) but unfortunately our stay was a hell because of the cold in the room. The heating did not work properly and the staff did nothing to solve this problem. My wife and I had to sleep with fleeces. It was a nightmare.
Avoid these apartments. They want to save money, so the heating is almost always off.
They spoiled my holidays.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel in winter. None of the rooms. Radiators are merely ornaments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Begarrido G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've stayed in Citéa apartment hotels in France, and this Edinburgh hotel follows that theme of moderately priced self-catering city accommodation. For travellers on a budget, this option will reduce costs - great for longer stays.

The hotel is run by Edinburgh University and is situated in a busy part of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town popular with students and young professionals. There are bars, shops and theatres in the area as well as major tourist attractions. This is a great base.

I arrived on a Friday evening for a two night stay. The receptionist was friendly and professional. I was provided with provided information on the hotel and local area and allocated an apartment on the 3rd floor.

The corridors are a bit of a maze but there are plenty of signs to keep guests in the right direction. The apartment was compact, well equipped and very clean. The layout included a small shower room, large wardrobe with a safe, compact kitchen, table and chairs, desk, double bed and a flat TV. The apartment was long and narrow but well designed. The kitchen included ample crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. A two ring hob, modern grill/microwave, fridge with ice-box, sink and cupboards were included in the kitchen layout.

I usually keep my room cool overnight and found the boost control for early evenings satisfactory. For those who feel the cold, this may be inconvenient.

For shorter stays, the apartments are not cleaned but a supply of towels, complementary tea/coffee and toiletries are provided.

Noise levels overnight were generally low and I didn't feel the need to reach for the ear plugs. I slept well on both nights.

I paid just over £100 for my two night stay and feel this was slightly on the expensive side given the time of year.

Overall, a great option for those who are looking for a base to explore the amazing Scottish capital.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of corridors away from lifts and stairs should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Extremely clean and perfectly functional, but not especially comfortable. Apartrment rather chilly: the strange heating system allows you to 'boost' it from chilly to less chilly, but you need to to press the button every hour or so, and on a cold day it is nowhere near enough. It is good class student accommodation, not more. Nothing wrong with that, but it does not add anything memorable to the experience of Edinburgh. Staff at reception are very friendly, though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cautious_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. Everything about this place was fantastic. From the moment we stepped in, the man on reception was incredibly friendly and helpful. The apartments are fantastic, totally clean and spacious and well stocked with tea, coffee, milk etc. The location is brilliant, only a ten minute walk to city centre. And there are many shops close by and many great restaurants. There is a fridge and cooker which means that you can buy and cook your own food. Would absolutely recommend this place and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the 3rd floor, however its a long corridor so some of them can be quite a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#133 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#27 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Apartments

Property: Richmond Place Apartments
Address: 5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new, contemporary and independent serviced apartments, with 35 apartments in the centre of Edinburgh. All have modern cooking facilities, linen, towels, ironing facilities, TV, telephone and a safe. Full Scottish breakfast is available ( at extra cost) in the adjacent building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Richmond Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Place Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Richmond Place Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing