We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for the fringe but not big enough for 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Place Apartments
Ranked #24 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location for the fringe but not big enough for 2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A studio apartment was a small bedroom with a kitchenette. The double bed, with one side against a wall, wasn't large enough to ensure a comfortable sleep. Though it was clean and well located, this made it uncomfortable and we wont be staying again. Finally, though the fringe does drive prices higher, what we were charged was simply extortion.

Room Tip: Dont select a studio if you're a couple and want a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    98
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
93
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is my second time staying in Edinburgh First's Richmond Place Apartments, and both stays have been fantastic. The rooms have been clean both times. The beds are comfortable. It is fantastic to have a kitchen, as buying a cooking your own food is much cheaper than eating out all the time. The kitchen comes equipped with a two burner stove, pots and pans, cutlery and plates, salt, pepper, tea, coffee, sugar, a toaster, kettle, and microwave. Some may feel that the rooms are small, but the space is used effectively. Both times I've stayed, the bed is on a loft over the kitchen/dining area, with the bathroom on the landing with the entrance. In the summer, the rooms can be a bit stuffy, but opening the window and keeping the blinds closed during the day helps a lot. Staff have been very friendly and helpful.

A little bit expensive, but better value the longer you stay. Stay 3-7 nights and get 15% off, 8+ nights and get 25% off.

The apartment is located about a 10 minute walk from Waverley train station, about 5-8 minutes from the Royal Mile. The nearest grocery store, Lidl's, is less than a minute away, with a Tesco within 5 minutes walk in either direction along the main street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you enjoy a home away from home,then welcome to Richmond Place.The place is brand new,the studios have it all and the price is unbeatable.Very well located we could walk practically everywhere.
We loved it and will definitely return

Room Tip: If you want a superior studio like we did,ask for one that is not on the central road.It iwas noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filoxeniaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights to see a gig & explore the city. From arrival the staff were very helpful. We were allowed to park near reception whilst we offloaded our gear & checked into our room. There is parking (chargeable) on the street however it's only for 4hrs. We parked in the NCP which is a 5min walk (downhill from the apartments & uphill coming back). Charge being £15 per 24hrs.
Our room was well equipt however felt a little clostrophobic. There was no natural light & it's was very cramped. I'm not sure if we were just unfortunate & got a bad room or they're all the same? Looking back I wish I'd requested to move. This didnt spoil our stay in any way though as we didnt spend much time indoors anyway (It was glorious sunshine - 23oc+).
Location wise, we found it brilliant. About 10-15mins walk to both Grassmarket & Princes Steeet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex_luvbug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in 4 rooms in Richmond Place on a saturday night recently. We were a stag do and had 2 rooms of 4, and 2 rooms of 2. The beds are doubles, so be prepared for a cosy night with your mates! The rooms for 4 are excellent though, and we had a good time there. Good standard, good bathrooms, but the sofa beds are not as good as the real beds. The best thing is that the staff are very friendly. Genuine people who want to make sure you are having a good time. Just be aware that when you do book the taxi to the airport, tell the driver when you get in that it's £19 fixed fare! Otherwise you will have a discussion at the airport when the meter says £24. Overall a very good place for central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We admittedly had some difficulty finding these apartments and the check-in location (even with a taxi driver who knew the area well). But, once we got situated, this was a great find for a 3-night stay in Edinburgh. We were within easy walking distance of the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, right where we wanted to be. Apartment layout was a little different -- lobby and fire door into living room/kitchenette area AND separate fire door into bedroom. Receptionists were most helpful in directions, estimated walking time, etc. Excellent value and we really appreciated the cleanliness of the apartment!

Room Tip: Make sure you know this is located at the edge of the University campus. Part of the complex houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWillison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed in Richmond Place Apartments whilst visiting Edinburgh for the Half Marathon. Until we visited we didn't realise that the complex was part of the university.

Upon arriving the entrance to Richmond Place Apartments wasn't immediately obvious but once we found our way in it had a distinctive "student halls" type feel about it, but the member of staff on reception was extremely friendly and helpful.

After following the warren of corridors which were extremely well signposted we found our room and were impressed with the cleanliness and general feel. The only disappointment was that everything felt a little narrow and small.

The bathroom was great, kitchen adequate, and dining area functional. However there wasn't really an area to sit and relax apart from on the bed, which itself was located on the mezzanine above the kitchen and the television. The only seating by the TV was a single armchair, and the dining table with fairly "formal" dining chairs.

Despite the narrow space and lack of relaxed seating, we would definitely consider Richmond Place for future visits to Edinburgh. It is extremely well located and in easy reach from all of the major attractions on foot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusTheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#118 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#134 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#26 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Apartments

Property: Richmond Place Apartments
Address: 5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new, contemporary and independent serviced apartments, with 35 apartments in the centre of Edinburgh. All have modern cooking facilities, linen, towels, ironing facilities, TV, telephone and a safe. Full Scottish breakfast is available ( at extra cost) in the adjacent building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Place Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Richmond Place Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing