We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a longer stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Place Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Place Apartments
Ranked #24 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a longer stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for two weeks. It was pretty central, but just off a main thoroughfare so not too noisy.
Although not a hotel, the desk was manned 24 hours and security of entry was excellent.
It was also imaculately clean throughout, including the kitchenware & equipment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_and_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    97
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
90
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Richmond Place really is a difficult one to review and is certainly not to everyones taste. One thing you must know is that the private apartments are integrated within a block of student accomodation so expect to share the entrance, lifts and stairs with students carting washing and such things around. It appeared as though most of the uni residents were Chinese and look to be much better behaved than our own little darlings. There is NO on site parking and although street parking is available, you will be lucky to find anything nearby. The best that is on offer (by way of the very helpful chap on reception) is free parking in the University car park around a mile away. This resulted in us unloading in the yard and driving off to park with a 10-15 minute walk back-not too bad in the sunshine...
This brings us onto the rooms themselves which seems-if you haven't paid for an upgrade- to be complete pot-luck. Our travelling friends who have a young baby were given the most ridiculously small room. These are supposed to be apart-hotel rooms with cooking facilities etc but room 130 looks more like a bunk-room on a submarine. If you stand in the "centre" and stretch out you can almost touch both walls-everything is then crammed in leaving no room even for a small carrycot. Our room on the other hand was much larger and split on two levels with the living space downstairs and the open plan bedroom upstairs. As the place was sold out-we had to make the sacrifice and swap rooms with our friends leading to a very poor nights sleep in the tiny "double" bed. Fortunately more rooms became available the next night so we paid an extra £15 for an upgrade to a superior room-much better and split over three levels but not one for the elderly or infirm due to the stairs.

On the whole, I have very mixed feelings over this place. They are in a great location and if you don't mind a trip back in time to your uni days then fine. If you don't mind the parking fiasco or the fact that you might be given a room that allows you to fantasise about serving on a Royal Navy war ship then that's fine too. I'm not too sure that I would book here again with the overwhelming number of grown up hotels in the City but some people seem to love them and some people seem to hate them. Hey ho.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a split level room looking into the courtyard. The single level roooms are tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUFCObiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here during the Fringe.

The prices hike up considerably during August, as they all do! But, would still rate this as reasonable value for money given its great location and facilities.

The apartments are part of the University First portfolio, but, do not let this conjure up visions of grubby student bedsits palmed off to unsuspecting tourists during the summer. These are well appointed, modern apartments which I assume are used only for the commercial arm of the University for conferences etc.

Full kitchen facilities, mezzanine bedroom, room safe and nice bathroom / shower can all be found.

Friendly reception staff will let you leave bags before and after your room stay.

15-20mins from Waverley Station and only 5mins from the Pleasance and Potterrow make this a fantastic location for the Fringe.

Breakfast can be purchased on site which is good quality but rather pricey at £11.00. (We liked the City Restaurant about 5 mins walk away as a suitable alternative).

We have already booked it again for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location: Located about 0.7 miles from the City Centre, in a quiet area away from the hustle of the centre noises. Pretty perfect to be honest.

Accommodation: The accommodation itself was great, perfect for a weekend away in Edinburgh. We only spent one night there, and could have stayed more. We were more than happy with the price we paid for the double room - £74 through laterooms.com. It accommodates both students and guests (guests have 1 floor all to themselves). It was clean, tidy, not noisy at all (it was a Saturday night). Check-in was easy, pleasant staff. Check-out was the same. Brilliant!

You walk into the room and are confronted by stars going to the double bed, and underneath that is the TV/table etc. The kitchen is at the side, with a separate door to a cupboard for the ironing board etc, and then the bathroom is through another door. Bathroom was very clean, shower very powerful. Towels provided.

Amenities: All the essentials were included. Double bed, TV & Freeview, hob, fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave, cutlery, bathroom, 2 chairs and table, iron & ironing board, hairdryer.

Overall: Superb place for a weekend break. Get in there quick.

Room Tip: Get in there quick! Ask for a quiet room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Literus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Richmond Place Apartments are in a great location 10 - 15 minutes walk from Waverley Station and in the midst of the Fringe venues so fabulous in August. The apartments are very clean and modern with a wealth of kitchen equipment, flat screen tv and a very efficient shower.

The sleeping area was rather warm and the only ventilation was to open the window I had to kneel on the windowsill in the lower area to do this. As I was feeling a little unwell one day I was force to spend 2 hours on my own in the room which was rather like being in a cell, netting and scaffolding outside and no view. No really comfortable chair to relax in either, however in for a place just to sleep and grab a quick bite it they were very good.

There are plenty of supermarkets to but breakfast goods in and right in the heart of the University so all the fringe venues on the doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaDerbyshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the second year I've stayed at Richmond Place Apartments part of the University of Edinburgh residences. It's very centrally situated for all the Fringe venues and consists of a small apartment with kitchen and sitting area and a separate bedroom and shower room.

It has everything you may need if you are visiting Edinburgh and the Fringe with a fully equipped kitchen if you wish to cook. Internet access is available and there is a flat screen television.

The apartments are on the third floor of a student accommodation block but are very comfortable.

Prices seem to be going up each year and 2013's prices is a hike to £140 per night which is an additional £20 per night which seems quite excessive so may have to reconsider my base for next year.

They are open all the year round so if you fancy a central base to visit wonderful Edinburgh out of the Festival season this is a great place to stay and certainly cheaper than in August.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsnewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for three nights during the Fringe, these adequate apartments are extremely well located for The Pleasance etc. My room was clean, had a decent small bathroom but was short on overall comfort. The bed was not the best and although well equipped - TV, safe - the room is quite narrow. We weren't informed about breakfast by the guy on reception on arrival so missed that. I shared with a mate and the bed was really too small for that purpose. We know each other much better now. There are some rooms with a pull out sofa bed so be sure to consider that before booking. I wasn't expecting a lot so my expectations were managed but at sixty quid a night per person it's really excellent value for the time of year and worth a punt if, like us, most of your time will be spent in various bars and venues.

Room Tip: No view from ours but you wouldn't expect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirElDoctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Kenneth Mackenzie
Kenneth Mackenzie
#134 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#25 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Apartments

Property: Richmond Place Apartments
Address: 5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new, contemporary and independent serviced apartments, with 35 apartments in the centre of Edinburgh. All have modern cooking facilities, linen, towels, ironing facilities, TV, telephone and a safe. Full Scottish breakfast is available ( at extra cost) in the adjacent building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Richmond Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Place Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Richmond Place Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing