We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the most modern place we have stayed- a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Place Apartments
Ranked #27 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We chose the Richmond Place apartments on recommendation from a friend who has stayed there. The apartments are quite small, but still larger than most hotel rooms. Perfectly adequate for us and very well kitted out, with quality fittings and extremely clean.
Front office staff are friendly and very helpful with local knowledge (It was the Edinburgh festival we came to see).
Location was excellent too; walk to anywhere in central Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We couldn't find the apartments at first! The office is actually through a driveway in an older...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Place Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

The apartment was rather tiny, I would rather call it a room than an apartment, but it had all the necessities. The bed wasn't that comfortable, but it did the job as we only slept in it for three nights. The location is very good, Holyrood Park is only a short walk away and city centre isn't that far either. There is also a bus stop nearby for those who don't want to walk every day to the centre.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. On our second night we had some problems when the heating system stopped working and we were positively freezing in our little apartment. Otherwise the service was good but it was a bit of a struggle to get the heating problem fixed! Here's how it went. First, we called the reception and the girl came to look at the heater and promised she would bring us another one. We waited for a while, then got a call from the reception that they could not provide us with a heater until after 10pm. A little after 11pm we got another call saying they could not find extra heaters anywhere in the building, that the cleaners had probably stored them somewhere they could not find them. They apologised but didn't promise to do anything else to make us feel warmer. We tried to manage for a while but the room was so cold that we had to ask one more time from the reception if there really wasn't anything they could do. The night guard person (who was a bit grumpy) had started his shift and came to our room to look at the heater again, and as it still didn't work, he promised to see if there are any other available rooms for us for the night. A few moments later he appeared on our door again, this time carrying a new heater. Without further explanations he popped it on the floor and plugged it in and left. We were nice and cosy after that, finally.

Apart from the heater incident we had a nice stay in a small but clean apartment with a good location. The other reviews mention fire alarms going off, but luckily we didn't have a fire alarm once. There was a note on the information board that the alarms are tested every tuesday, I wonder if that has come as a surprise to some of the people staying there. We weren't there on a tuesday, so no fire alarm testing or false alarms or anything of the sort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnSalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stay for three nights. The location is convenience. We had small kitchen in the room. Bath room in the room is quite modern with strong shower.
The room that we stayed was little small, we could not sleep well because the bed is quite small for two persons. I suggest the apartment change the bed to double layers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voravit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Good value for money, small student type accommodation in an expensive city.
The apartment was as described, small but functional. One side is the student halls and the other (only accessible with key fob) is the apartments.
The staff were friendly and helpful although they didn’t fix the two broken table legs they promised to during our 3 day stay.
The bed (double and not very comfy) is on a mezzanine type level above the kitchen/diner and the small pod type bathroom is as you enter the room. Down some stairs is a small but handy kitchen with full fridge, combination microwave and hob (which is very difficult to get the hang off). I did cook a full breakfast each day though and we had one evening meal in.
The location is very handy for the centre and we used the frequent buses to get around, they stop just the other side of the apartment on the main road.
Plenty of takeaways and shops in the area if you want to eat in.
Noise in the corridors can be a problem as mentioned by other reviewers as the walls seem very thin and echoey. We were woken two out of the three nights we stayed.
The room was also quite warm even though it was fairly cold outside and whilst there was a heating system you could not cool the room and opening the one window didn't seem to do the job.
I would stay again of the price was right (we paid £70 a night) which we thought was good value for what we got.

Room Tip: Take earplugs
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The apartment was very clean and comfortable beds, however i could touch all walls in the apartment at the same time. As I was only there for one night this wasn't too much of an issue.
The one problem i did have was that at 2am. The fire alarm went off and the building evacuated. There was no explaination or apology for this and i was left standing in the cold car park amongst the students who reside in the apartments. Not that this was not amusing it was very inconvenient and cold.

Room Tip: Good location for cheap drinks in Edinburgh South Side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richymcguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We loved this place. It was in a wonderful location and was a great value. It was a little small, but I think it depends on the apartment you get. We traveled with our parents who paid the same price and got a huge loft. It's in a college dorm so the door service is helpful, but not super professional. Its a ten minute walk to the Royal Mile.
The only annoying part was the fire alarm went off. We almost missed the wedding we were attending, because they had to have the firemen come. The students said it happened often, so I would be aware of that.

Room Tip: Ask for a loft if you can.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Richmond Place Apartment is a little off the city centre (10 min walk) in a quite area. Seems like it is part of a student accommodation building. The apartment is more like a studio with a semi-send floor with a double bed & a sofa bed (which was not the most comfortable). Overall a great little apartment for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneAntova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Masson House
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#37 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,086 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#30 of 217 in Edinburgh
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Apartments

Address: 5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $118 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new, contemporary and independent serviced apartments, with 35 apartments in the centre of Edinburgh. All have modern cooking facilities, linen, towels, ironing facilities, TV, telephone and a safe. Full Scottish breakfast is available ( at extra cost) in the adjacent building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Place Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Richmond Place Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing