We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious layer cake and fantastic friendly service.”
Review of Cuckoo's Bakery

Cuckoo's Bakery
Ranked #5 of 34 Bakeries in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious layer cake and fantastic friendly service.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was in Edinburgh for a weekend away with my boyfriend. Had lunch at the cuckoo bakery. All the food was divine; I would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megolina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    46
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely little tea room”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited for a valentines day treat and was not disappointed! Their cupcakes are amazing - I wish I could make them this well! Little more practice I think!
The tea was very nice also, my husband had Americano and is a little fussy about his coffee but sais it was really nice. Well worth the walk and a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank van-vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes ever and great staff”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have been here on many an occasion and have never had a less than brilliant experience. It's a small, quaint little bakery. If you chose to eat in, there is a good selection of soup, sandwiches etc and the yummiest cupcakes in the world for desert! The staff are friendly, attentive and extremely helpful. You can get cupcakes to go as well. would recommend the chocolate chocolate which is available everyday, but keep an eye out for their weekly specials! Some are totally to die for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljriddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had heard great reviews from friends and thought we would try out Cuckoo's Bakery, despite it being quite far away from where we were staying in Edinburgh, and I have to say it was absolutely well worth the trek and wait. We happened to visit on a Saturday afternoon and they were very busy, but they still made space for us at a table and the service was exceptional.
The cupcakes and cakes are in a world of their own - as it was a busy time (apparently more-so than they were expecting) there was only a few selections left so I had the Vanilla Vanilla one and it was toDIEfor - a lovely light sponge and plenty of buttery icing, yum! I only wish I lived in Edinburgh so I could treat myself more often! A must-stop for anyone with a sweet tooth! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yummy yummy yummy”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

lovely little place - nice decor, good atmosphere and delicious cakes will definately be back! only had coffee and cake but the savoury food looked lovely too so will be back to sample that as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo's Bakery also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cuckoo's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing