We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype!”
Review of Cuckoo's Bakery

Cuckoo's Bakery
Ranked #5 of 34 Bakeries in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Believe the hype!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Heard about the Cuckoo's Bakery through a few people so me and my partner decided to give it a try - delicious!!!
Food comes in good portions and everything is fresh - the bloomer bread for the sandwiches is fantastic! Great selection of teas from around the world as well. Tried here twice in the last month and the quality of food and service, along with the relaxed atmosphere inside make it what I'm sure will be a firm favourite for years to come!
Also have a delicious selection of cupcakes to eat or take away. And try the homemade chocolate brownie - peanut butter filling was a lovely surprise!!!
This place does the basics very well indeed - would happily recommend to anyone!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    46
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cakes in a kitchen”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After browsing the nearby antique shops, we stopped for tea at Cuckoo's Bakery. Unlike other tea rooms, the bakery was open without a counter, like you were entering a friend's kitchen.

Along with a wonderful blend of hazelnut tea I tried the raspberry and white chocolate cupcake. The tea was rich and unique and the cake proved to be the perfect sweet treat after an afternoon of shopping.

The best tea room we visited during our stay in Edinburgh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmaleigh_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lovely cupcakes, at over £2/each”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lovely cupcakes at Dundas Street. I was treated to a box on my birthday, was very impressed with them, especially the chocolate peanut butter and chocolate chocolate cupcake. What a treat!

Will definitely try to bake like them :p

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank littlepinkcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some great cupcakes”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I like cuckoo's bakery, granted it is expensive at £2.50 each but they tend to be quite rich and therefore even one fills a big lad like me.

Some of the cupcakes are sumptuous - pimms, chocolate shortcake, white choc and raspberry. Others are a not quite my thing: pistacchio a little dry, strawberry cheesecake is messy and not the most tasty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST....”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stumbled on this fantastic Tea Room whilst on holiday. Was lucky enough to visit it twice once with friend and once on my own. Both times was a delight. The Cup Cakes are out of this world a joy to look at and delicious to eat! Light lunches also available and presented with the same flare and attention to detail.
You have to get there early to have a full choice as the cakes are so popular they sell quickly.
Take a look on there Web site or Face Book page to see pictures of cakes but you really must
call in if you are in Edinburgh it is as essential as a visit to The Castle!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo's Bakery also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cuckoo's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing