We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biddy Mulligans Pub

Biddy Mulligans Pub
Ranked #527 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Not great!
Had to wait 45 minutes for our meal when we were the first to arrive!
Also ran out of IPA, food poorly presented and glasses a bit dirty.
To be fair though they give us a discount when we paid.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirkiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Kirkiep,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us- all of the feedback we receive is appreciated. We are taking all of your comments on board, and are investigating the issues that you raised in your review. We hope you will visit us again in the future for the Biddy Mulligans experience that we pride ourselves on.

Thank you again for your review,

Kind Regards,

Shelly Kennedy
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    170
    76
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Nice place to grab a bit of lunch or I would guess dinner. We had a very good lunch here and it was very convenient to our hotel so it worked out well for us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank scrpyqltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hi there scrpyqltr,

Thank you for your review- always a pleasure to hear our customers feedback on their Biddys experience. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, we’re very proud of our delicious menu!! We hope you’ll visit us again soon, we would love to look after you again!


Kindest Regards,

Shelly Kennedy
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stopped here for lunch during the festival. Pub food varies in quality and out of the six of us the general opinion was that this was not great although the haggis was well thought of. My burger was OK but that was about all, one of the party said they wished they hadn't eaten the salad. The staff were friendly enough though. Probably OK for a drink or night out but the food was over-priced for the quality. I wouldn't go back to eat

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello Nick,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us- we always welcome any feedback we receive from our guests.

Secondly, we are truly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us- this is not the high standard of food that we pride ourselves on, and your comments have all been passed on to the appropriate staff to ensure that this lapse in quality never happens again. We hope you will visit us again, and let us show you the true Biddys experience!

Again, thank you for your feedback, we truly do appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

Shelly Kennedy
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast, ok service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

I was here and had breakfast with my wife. We where told to sit down anywere and we did, but we recived no menues. So we had to stop one of the waitresses to get the menues. But after that we recived our food and drinks very qucikly. The food tasted very good and was a good size portion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello Marius,

We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us- we’re quite proud of our fresh and delicious breakfasts- our salmon Florentine with buttered spinach on granary bread is a personal favourite of mine, although creamy porridge, honey and seasonal berries is a very close second!!
We are disappointed to hear that you felt the service you received was not of the high standard that we always strive to provide to every one of our customers.

We hope you’ll be back to try more of our menu the next time you visit Scotland, and to receive the full Biddy's experience.

Kindest Regards,

Shelly Kennedy
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

breakfast was not very appitizing stayed in grassmarket hotel and this is right next door.Staff were so good but breakfast very uninspiring

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank izzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello Izzzie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay with us- we always welcome every review we receive. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service you received from all of our staff- even early mornings don’t dampen their spirits!!

However, it is very disappointing that you felt our breakfast was uninspired.
We strive for excellence in everything we do, and we pride ourselves in our healthy and fresh continental options, along with our large range of hot breakfast options, with everything from porridge to a full Irish fry up.

We would love to hear further details and suggestions from you, if you wish please feel free to email us on biddys@g1group.com.

Kindest Regards,

Shelly Kennedy
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biddy Mulligans Pub also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Biddy Mulligans Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing