We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless you want to feel ripped off.”

Biddy Mulligans Pub
Ranked #594 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
1 review
“Avoid unless you want to feel ripped off.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Food substandard quality. Left feeling as though i had paid 5 star prices for a meal out of a tin. I guess this is what I get for not planning where I eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ind2194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello ind,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience. We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your meal- if you wish to discuss this matter further please email us on biddys@g1group.com.

Kindest Regards,

Shelly Kennedy

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    183
    87
    46
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no service”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We should have known better when we walked in and there were lots of seats, as other Grassmarket pubs and restaurants were full. A few tables inside full with loud rowdy groups. We waited 15 minutes and had no service. The bartender saw us, and the overworked waitress passed us many times on her way back and forth to the outside tables. We left.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank evesaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Eve,


Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us, we appreciate all of the feedback we receive. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience- it is not at all the welcome or the level of service that we aim to provide each and every one of our guests.

We hope that you will visit us again if you're ever in Scotland- and receive the Biddys experience that we always want our guests to have.

Kindest Regards,

The Biddys Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Felt like home...”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Jim and I dropped in for dinner. the place was crowded but we found a little table. Our waitress Steph, helped me pick a scotch, talked with us about great places to visit, and was absolutely wonderful. The atmosphere was great, and so was the food. Steph definitely made our dinner on our first nite in Edinburgh one to remember.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdenning1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello mdenning1951,

What a delight to read a review as kind as yours. I've passed on your comments to Steph, she was over the moon that you'd taken the time to leave a review! It really is a pleasure to read such positive comments about our team; without them Biddys wouldn't be the place it is today.

Do pop in again if you have a chance while you're in Edinburgh, and if you enjoy scotch check out the Wee Pub Whisky Club on Wednesdays (from 11pm during the festival) in our neighbour 'The Wee Pub'- Steven Harley the host has a real passion for whisky and will be able to tell you all sorts of fascinating things about them!

Thanks again,
Mhairi & the Biddys team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pub great. Food awful.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

As ever with my visits to Edinburgh time is short and precious. This pub is a great place to socialize and as a starting point for your night out. However, I had to eat there last week. It was quite possibly the worst pub food I have ever had the misfortune to order. Fries that were half cooked and soggy, onion rings that were not only stuck together in one grease filled lump but cold and garlic bread soaked in fat. untrue. Bland and tasteless chilli. Not my first second or third choice. Please don't eat there.

Helpful?
Thank 71marnia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Tripadvisor member,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we take our customer feedback seriously and appreciate all comments we receive. I'm sorry to hear you didn't find your food experience up to the usual Biddy's standard. I have discussed your comments with the head chef so we can make sure that improvements are made.

Should you wish to discuss your visit any further please don't hesitate to contact me at biddys@g1group.com

Kind Regards,
Mhairi & the Biddys team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Night out”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Service fantastic!!! Ask for Emily sooooo polite and ran the bar whilst others stood around. Have a job at my pub anytime

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Leanne B,

Wow, what an amazing review! It's great to see how well our staff have looked after you, I shall pass on your thanks to Emily, she really is a wee star!

Make sure and catch the live music every night from 10pm it really does make the atmosphere in Biddys!

Kind Regards,
Mhairi & the Biddys team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biddy Mulligans Pub also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Biddy Mulligans Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing