We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Pub”

Biddy Mulligans Pub
Ranked #615 of 2,641 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very busy pup, service was slow even though not very busy in afternoon, definitely a pub very busy at nighttime with barely standing room

Thank WicklowOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi there WicklowOptimist,

Thank you for your review!

We are indeed a popular pub, thanks to our great food menu and extensive range of local (and not-so-local!!) drinks.

Our recent refurbishment has given us a much more spacious pub, with lots of comfortable booths for our customers to enjoy their night- and we're always more than happy to book our guests tables in advance to guarantee the best possible craic!!

Thanks again for your feedback,

Best wishes,

Shelly and the Biddys gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 463 of 624 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited this pub on couple of occasions.Very busy pub like all pubs on grassmarket.good atmosphere and very spacious to deal with large crowds.Ginger lad from Sligo was very helpful to serve when some of the waitress just seemed to be going behind the bar to drink minerals and move out again.Lots of nooks and crannies to relax in. nice pub

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank decaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi decaff,

Thanks for taking time to write us a wee review! Our central location makes us quite popular, and after our recent refurb we've now got quite the spacious bar-my personal favourite is the cosy booths!

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed Eamonn's banter- I'll personally pass along your comments to him. Thanks again for your feedback, we'll hopefully see you again soon!!

Regards,

Shelly and the Biddys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stumbled into this pub in the Grassmarket, after a few cocktals and we were already a bit tipsy. It was mostly young people out for a drunken night, which suited us fine. It was a disco feel, with a dj playing a variety of music which suited everyone, with cheap enough drink and was open till 3am. We didnt want to go to a nightclub as we weren't dressed for it, but wanted to stay out and get drunk, this place was perfect.

Thank xlauraxbx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi xlauraxbx,

Cheers for your review- we love to hear all feedback from our customers and we're delighted you made the most of our late license during the festival!

We pride ourselves on our wee venue, and like to think we appeal to a wide range of customers of all ages. Not only do we offer DJs on Saturday nights, we also have live music with everything from local bands to acoustic singers every night of the week!

On top of all this, our locally sourced food menu offers everything from home made Irish Stew to our all day Irish fry- great for the day after the night before!!

We look forward to your next venture to us, and thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Shelly Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Attended here after a 5pm deal prior to the tattoo with family and the deal which did not stipulate no kids after 2pm which was quickly resolved with very helpful and friendly staff. They tucked us away in a busy table which was fine. The bar was very busy and staff appeared to be coping well with clearing tables and serving customers including us. We all enjoyed the meals which were plentiful and tasty. Contrary to some of the reviews I have read on here, would have to contradict these and say, we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and nothing to complain about.

Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi GordonM,

First of all, thank you for your great review!

We're very proud of our extensive, locally sourced food menu, and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal!

While our license for under 18's extends until 5pm Monday to Friday, it does change to 2pm on Saturdays and Sundays. This is being updated on the 5pm website but we're happy to have resolved for this for you on your visit!

We hope you pop in again to us soon,

Kind regards,

Shelly

Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I have honestly never in my life tasted food so appallingly poor.

5 of us ate 3 courses, why, I don't know , course after course of slop and overcooked dry food.

Pan fried salmon was the only 'fresh' item on the menu and even it had flavours of off notes.

Not fresh, not nice, not acceptable.

Cannot believe somebody could eat here and find it acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hungrymonkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi HungryMonkey,


First of all, thank you for your feedback- we appreciate all of our customers feedback.

Secondly, we are truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us- we would be happy to discuss it further, if you wish please send us an email on biddys@g1group.com.

Kind regards,

The Biddy Mulligans Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biddy Mulligans Pub also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Biddy Mulligans Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing