We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Biddy Mulligans Pub
Ranked #582 of 2,556 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and some friends were in Edinburgh for first time, and we went to Biddy Mulligans because an collegue recomended it. Were great atmosphere there, great service and perfect live music. We also went there to have an lunch and watch football, perfect place that time also

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PetterBrumunddal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Biddys as we are always happy to hear any feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit on both occasions. Biddys is well known for its great atmosphere, good food and entertainment.

We hope you will pop in again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kindest Regards,

Sharon Norris
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Biddy Mulligans Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Like the titel says, this became our little watering hole on a recent stay for a couple reasons but namely was the live music which always seem to be good and at a decent volume. Second was the service. The bartender(s) was extremely freindly and more then willing to strike up a conversation when he a moment.

Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi there,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to review Biddys. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you will pop in again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Please visit our website to keep up to date with all our up and coming events.

Kindest Regards,
Sharon Norris
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

decor tired and had plaster etc coming off the walls. bit cold but staff were good enough. could do with a better menu

Thank sheps86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Grassmarket Hotel, Biddy Mulligans is connected to the hotel. This pub is a great location to grab a pint before heading to your room. Breakfast can also be included in the cost of your room! I love their Scottish breakfast. My first goal when we arrived in Scotland was to try Haggis and now I'm Jonesing for more!

Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Late Lunch on the patio with a 12 year old. Children NOT ALLOWED after 5 pm as they don't have the special license required, so if in town a few days and you like the Grassmarket area's choice of restaurants, choose accordingly. Few pubs here allow kids after 5 pm.
Food was very good quality. I had a Large plate of mussels with soda bread. If I remember correctly it's listed under the appetizers, but it was enough to share unless you wanted it for your main meal. Something about that big bowl of mussels even interested our 'tween' and he dug into my mussels for his first time as well.
We sampled home-made soup, Irish stew, and a Club sandwich which had proper bacon rashers and real chicken - so much better than we get here in Canada. Bacon wrapped chicken medallions, and really good 'Chips.'
Service was very good also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlbertaCanadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy M, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your review of our pub. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and urge you to pop in again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Our pub is full of Irish Craic, good food and cold beers!

Hope you visit again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Sharon Norris
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biddy Mulligans Pub also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Biddy Mulligans Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing