We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
10 Clarendon Crescent
Ranked #58 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best value in Edinburgh”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Unless you´re looking for a 24 hour party place in Edinburgh, you can´t go wrong by booking this place. I have stayed in many hotels in Edinburgh and this is the by far the best place I´ve stayed so far. Nice neighbourhood. Less than 10 minutes walk to the west end of Princes Street. This is a flat, not a small hotel room. Owner/host is a Scottish gentleman who´s always making sure you get the best stay possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasStensrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
21
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wow. We booked the Buckingham suite for my 40th in Edinburgh. We took the airport bus to Haymarket and walked to the apartment, it only took us about 10 mins. Really stunning crescent, and the house itself certainly had the wow factor. Greeted by the owner I had a peek at his jaw dropping living room, I knew this was going to be special. Amazing hallway and stairs which lead to our stunning appartment. Really stylish, spacious, modern cutting edge design. Swanky bedroom with great wall design. I loved it. Didnt want to leave. We met with friends for dinner and had to bring them to the appartment just to show off. I've since been on the Dwell website to look at refurnishing our flat with some of what was there. Gorgeous darling! Will book this next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit Stockbridge down the road for gastro pubs, gorgeous delis, quirky shops, and THE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoveWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Tourists like to "experience" a new culture without the inconveniences and travelers want to live it, warts and all. This is the perfect place from which to "live" Edinburgh with a paucity of warts. This is a flat, not a hotel, and you're as much on your own as you would be at home. That said, the owner, Billy, was always friendly and very helpful with our inquiries and requests, even referring my 70-plus mother to an excellent nearby physical therapist who relieved her of serious muscle spasms the same day she called for an appointment.

We three adults were in the flat on the third floor front (if you're American - second floor if you aren't) so the walk up may be an issue for some. However, the staircase is wide and beautiful with even stairs and lighting that comes on as you walk up. There is a comfortable sofa in the lobby if you need to catch your breath after walking all over town and plenty of landings to rest on if necessary on your way up to your flat. Despite the upper level we had excellent water pressure in the shower, the water is scalding hot right out of the tap and never seems to run out. The flat itself is clean, bright and airy. We left the windows open the whole week we were there. And as for quiet, other than road noise from the open windows, if we hadn't seen other people in the hallway on one or two occasions we would have thought we were the only tenants.

Edinburgh is much like San Francisco in that parking is at a premium but you can walk or take a bus nearly everywhere you want to go. From the flat, Sainsbury's superstore is half a kilometer in one direction (for stocking the small but neat, well-appointed kitchen) and New Town is half a kilometer in the other direction. The bus stops on Queensferry Road right in front of the building. For those who are only visiting Edinburgh and don't plan on ranging the countryside, I suggest you buy a bus pass instead of renting a car for those days you don't want to walk.

All in all, this is one of the best places I've stayed during my travels, and we definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank In8Humor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a glorious two weeks in Edinburgh as local tourists and students and 10 Clarendon Crescent had everything we could possibly need or want to make this a perfect home away from home.
Located just over Dean Bridge, it is a 10 minute walk to City Center, 20 minutes to the Castle, Filmhouse, Usher Hall, the Scottish National Gallery and Modern One and Two. There are restaurants (Zizzi) and convenience and wine shops (Odd Bins) along Queensferry and Waitrose grocery store on Comley Bank has an amazing assortment of food options. 10 Clarendon Crescent is perfectly situated to take advantage of everything Edinburgh has to offer.
Billy McLellan is a lovely and helpful host - fresh towels and sheets were delivered during the week, and he had stocked the kitchen with milk, cereal, coffee, tea and fruit to start us off. We stayed on the top floor Learmonth apartment which is quite a few steps up, but we were rewarded with magnificent views down to the water and up to City Center. The apartment is filled with light, the bed was deliciously comfortable and the bathroom bright and clean. The Learmonth apartment also has a small washing machine which was a fabulous bonus for doing laundry (there is also a laundry on Queensferry).
Whether you are here for a long weekend or more - 10 Clarendon Cresent is a terrific, quiet spot when you visit Edinburgh. It alone is a reason to return to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a second floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2EatQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend, three nights. We had a modern style apartment with a bedroom-section, a living-room section with a kitchen corner and a bathroom. It felt fresh, updated and clean. Milk and cereals were available in the kitchen, there were books and magazines to read, and also tourist brochures which can give you some ideas about what you do. There were also free wi-fi. You get a comfortable base for exploring the area, in a quiet neighbourhood. We had a rental car one of the days, and found parking along the road just outside. I believe it was free in the weekend, but check that out.

We spent most of the time outside, so we didn't see much to the owners/staff. But they seemed nice and helpful enough. It was a great place to come "home" to in between the all the things to do in Edinburgh! We thought of it as really good value. Absolutely no regrets!

I have seen it described as only a few minutes from the west end of princess street, but you should be aware that it is stretching it a bit. To the very closest end of princess street it is about 800 meter. It is about 2km from the Weaverly Station downtown. It is not a problem walking it, we did so several times. Taxis cost £5-6 from our experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OH987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at 10 Clarendon Crescent. Billy McLellan the owner was so helpful and nice. He had stocked the kitchen on our arrival with the essentials. The location was great and the building itself was wonderful similar to one of the brownstones on Beacon Hill where we live in Boston. Old wonderful details to the building but completely renovated inside. All the amenities you need for a comfortable stay. A wonderful apartment. We were in Eaton with a Kitchen, living dinning room, separate bedroom, and bath. Windows floor to ceiling. We couldn't have picked better. It's was a great expeience. We can't wait to get back to Scotland again. Thanks so much for the wonderful Scottish hospitatilty.

Room Tip: It's only a walk to the resturants and very close to Prince's street with all the shops. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HGPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here in September and it was a great experience! It was very clean and neat and the owner was friendly and very hospitable. The location was also great, at a walking distance from the center.

Iman D.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariam y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Stockbridge & Dean Village
St Bernards House
St Bernards House
#341 of 393 in Edinburgh
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calton Apartments
#65 of 205 in Edinburgh
72 reviews
Ocean Apartments
#25 of 205 in Edinburgh
386 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Clarendon Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Clarendon Crescent

Property: 10 Clarendon Crescent
Address: 10 Clarendon Crescent, Edinburgh EH4 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Clarendon Crescent 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based a few minutes walk from Edinburgh's city centre, 10 Clarendon Crescent is a perfect base to explore the riches of Scotland's capital, either as a weekend stopover or for a short-term business visit. Our five self-contained apartments fuse traditional Georgian architecture with modern design flair and technologies. The full height windows overlook the local gardens and are equipped with modern stylish furnishings coupled with state-of-the-art fittings with high-speed internet connection for business visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your 10 Clarendon Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Clarendon Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing