We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Riccarton inn
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$511
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$172
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
25
44
14
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
44
14
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscullen skinkcask beerscajun chicken burgertattiesfree wificurrierugbyuniversityensuitepubs
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 102 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great pub, lovely revamp apart from the toilets which desperately need upgrading. Well kept beer and range good range of spirits. Food however is really poor and too expensive for the quality. How many food reviews do they need before they change the chef. Dry steak pie, cold greasy fish, high fat/salt kids meals. Not good. Staff seriously need to cheer up as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went here with high expectations after so many recommendations from friends.
The inn has been refurbished so has lovely interiors & very nice staff.
The food in my opinion could be better. A limited menu for people who have dietary needs ( I can't eat dairy products ).
Starters: I had a mushroom starter, it was tasteless. My husband had Cullen Skink, which he said was fantastic.
Mains: I had chicken - it was very dry & disappointing. My husband had haggis, which he said was very good, but let's face it, anyone can make haggis, neeps & tattles!
Pudding: I had sticky toffee pudding ( yawn - boring menu choice! ) which was lovely, my husband had Chocolate Torte which he said was very rich.
I have had better meals elsewhere.
Very impressed by choice of beers/wines/spirits & lovely staff.
We'll be back for a drink, but not for a meal, which is sad, as it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Friday night. Initially told there wasn't a table in the restaurant area, when we said we didn't want to eat in the bar one was made available. Food choice was reasonable. I had the fish and chips my husband had prawn and chorizo pasta. Both were nicely presented and consistent with the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went there expecting some hearty pub grub and ended up with a plate full of 'meh'. A banana split that was really bad and looked like it was made by a 3 year old. A caesar salad that looked and tasted like it was a couple of days old. It's a lovely place but the food standard needs to be improved to match the new interiors.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Lucas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good to try the Riccartonn Arms after its make over. Meal with friends was very enjoyable. Pleasant welcome, friendly efficient service and a good choice of pub grub staples. Wine choices good at reasonable prices. Food enjoyed by all. Only moan was that the pastry on my individual steak pie was absolutely flat - puff pastry with no puff. But the filling was superb! Well worth a visit and good to support a local establishment - recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasRab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews