We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Riccarton inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard Edinburgh West(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The White Lady(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
25
44
14
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
44
14
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscullen skinkcask beerscajun chicken burgertattiesfree wificurrierugbyuniversityensuitepubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 102 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would recommend a meal or a drink at the Riccarton Inn.

The place has recently been refurbished. We dined in the bar last night. The place has a traditional style, which I like, Bar dining area consists of high-backed booths, ideal for couples and friends.

The menu is also new with some some pleasant surprizes on it. Great tasting meal at a reasonable price.

Many items on the menu are gluten free.

I recommend booking at weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since the refurb last year, the place is looking great. The food is lovely and a reasonable choice, though quite pricey (£8.50 for macaroni and garlic bread). My husband had fish pie which was
delicious but lacked some veg on the side. Good choice for the kids- please put macaroni cheese back on their menu! A great local to have and popular! If you want to eat book a table to avoid disappointment.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Been twice since renovation what a difference. Looks so much better and the food is good prices are reasonable , and the staff are friendly . They do quiz nights as well .If you live local its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank couter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had lunch at the riccarton inn with my husband for the first time since it has been newly refurbished.we thought the decor was lovely and looks lovely and fresh.we arrived at 1.45 pm without a reservation and initially we thought we would not get a table as it was very busy but they managed to accommodate us.My husband had beef and wine pie with chips peas and carrots and i had haggis neeps and tatties which were both very nice,freshly made and very hot.We both had a sweet which was also very nice.The only slight "grumble" we had was that as they were so busy and there seemed to be only 2 staff waiting the tables and serving at the bar that when we asked for the bill it took so long that we ended up paying at the bar! However this did not spoil our experience and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food and superb service. Local pub with all the finesse of a quality restaurant. Recently changed owners and for the better definitely. Refurbished interior decor and exterior balcony is stunning. Love it!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews