We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Riccarton inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riccarton inn
Ranked #163 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had lunch at the riccarton inn with my husband for the first time since it has been newly refurbished.we thought the decor was lovely and looks lovely and fresh.we arrived at 1.45 pm without a reservation and initially we thought we would not get a table as it was very busy but they managed to accommodate us.My husband had beef and wine pie with chips peas and carrots and i had haggis neeps and tatties which were both very nice,freshly made and very hot.We both had a sweet which was also very nice.The only slight "grumble" we had was that as they were so busy and there seemed to be only 2 staff waiting the tables and serving at the bar that when we asked for the bill it took so long that we ended up paying at the bar! However this did not spoil our experience and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food and superb service. Local pub with all the finesse of a quality restaurant. Recently changed owners and for the better definitely. Refurbished interior decor and exterior balcony is stunning. Love it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMarkC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to this local pub for a Christmas lunch from work. The food was excellent and reasonably priced, similarly with the drinks.

They managed to seat 18 of us in comfort.

The only complaint would be that the main course was a little slow in being served but, as there were so many of us, this was a minor detail.

I would recommend trying out this recently refurbished establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The pub opened up a few weeks ago after a month's refurbishment and it looks really good. This added to the improved menu means I have a local hostelry that I am proud of. Four of us went up for a St Andrews Night Dinner and we all found our selections were ideal. I have to stick to a gluten free menu and the chef , I am told, is fully aware of the issues of such dietery problems and this was evident from the food he produced. well Done

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewMutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

For local pub food you couldn't do better than the Riccarton Arms in Currie. Good menu (though could be a bit more modern), sensible prices and fast and friendly service. There's a separate eating area from the bar though still a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corcegg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My friend and I live near the Riccarton Arms and wanted to meet for a drink and bite to eat so decided to give it a go.

The bar staff were friendly, service was prompt and the menu had quite a good variety of 'pub grub' on it. We both ordered starters and mains and I have to say that the food was really yummy! Very fresh, good size portions and good value for money.

My only real criticism about the place is that the ladies toilets are disgusting. They stink and I think it's possibly something to do with drainage as opposed to a smelly customer! They definitely need a revamp and I hope this is on the new owners things to do list when they renovate later in the year.

I will absolutely return to the Riccarton Arms and would recommend to others. I think it's full of potential and look forward to seeing the changes in the coming months and wish the new owners every success.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corcegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We like to support our local buisinesses and with this in mind decided to use our local pub to get a meal and a drink on a saturday night. As we walked in there was a big sign on the blackboard saying food served all day untill 8pm. We arrived at 6.30, ordered our drink and then asked if we could see the menu. The bar man then informed us that there was no food being served that night. No reason or apology was given. On our way out we saw the manager and asked why no food was being served. We have a hen party coming in he smiled. Again no apology or expresion of sympathy was given. I had hoped that under the new managment that the customer service would have improved but i was sorely dissapointed. It is not rocket science to acknowledge a customers feelings or to offer an explanation, an apology or keep your boards etc updated. This has happend to us before in this bar and now would probably not venture up again for something to eat. I understand that bars can be fully booked but at 6.30 it is unusual and would have wished that this had been acknowleged. Good customer sevice costs nothing but bad customer service may cost the bar my custom.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karent39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Cherrytrees Bed & Breakfast
#171 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ardmillan Hotel
#170 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Just B
#160 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riccarton inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riccarton inn

Property: The Riccarton inn
Address: 198 Lanark Road West | Currie, Edinburgh EH14 5NX, Scotland (Formerly The Riccarton Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A busy inn with good food ,real ales ,cocktails fine wines and five ensuite letting bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riccarton inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riccarton Inn Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing