We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in the city but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed April 26, 2014

... good clean rooms with good furniture and bathrooms. Free parking and very professional staff. Bus stops are just outside with buses to city centre or (opposite direction) airport which is only a few miles away. I had a drink with a few colleagues in the bar (endless supplies of nuts...) and for once I felt the environment and service justified the over-the-top hotel bar prices. We ate out for dinner each night but the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband & I just spent 7 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff was most helpful, ready to do anything we asked. The hotel was centrally located. It was charming, immaculate, friendly. Breakfast & laundry service were included. Everything was done to make our stay as comfortable as possible!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Well yet another great overnight stay. From arrival to check-out all staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We (now) always stay here before flying from Edinburgh Airport. Definately would recommend, a much more pleasant experience than any hotel nearer the airport - by far!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzydoll_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love this hotel, have been a few times - nice, clean relaxed. Swimming pool nice size with Gym, Jacuzzi, Steamroom and Sauna well maintained.

Rooms good though beds a little soft, and a wee bit short on storage - not chest of drawers in our room this time??

Food excellent and service couldn't be faulted - will be back. 15 year old son loved it too.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road have less noise, but it's not that noticeable.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

i found the hotel to be comfortable; the food was excellent, we ate their on the evening and we both thoroughly enjoyed the food. The room was comfortable and i found the pool warm which was very pleasant. More than anything the staff were obliging, went out of their way to acknowledge us and were keen to ask how we were enjoying our stay. Equally the staff in the executive lounge were efficient and very pleasant. I must say that the executive lounge itself i found slightly disappointing. I am used to small salads to accompany the hot snacks, and the snacks themselves were coming out of the kitchen 4 or 5 at a time, not very well organised, also no crisps or nuts which everywhere else would be the norm. We breakfasted in there on Good Friday morning and I was surprised no fish, smoked salmon or mackerel was on offer, we mentioned this to the attendant and he offered to get some, but I had already eaten porridge, but we were surprised considering this was Scotland famous for its salmon especially that this wasn't laid on automatically
All in all a really lovely stay, but the exec does need tweaking t improve customer experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addicted-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night break to the stunning Marriott Edinburgh. The hotel is 10 mins from the airport and 15 mins from the city centre. Couldn't have picked a better location. There is an express bus service (£2.50 per person per ticket from and to the airport and £1.50 pp to and from the city/hotel)
The hotel is absolutely spotless. The bed linen was luxury and very nice to sleep in! The beds were so comfortable. We had tea/coffee and biscuits in the room. Very generous bathroom/toilet size. We opted for a Deluxe King size and was worth every penny. We had a digital safe which was at no extra cost (usually other hotel have charged or at least taken a deposit).
The hotels facility were great. The Spa and the pool was amazing, made such a difference to our break. The gym facilities and the pool were in immaculate condition and plenty of choice. The great bonus was in the changing rooms - they have a swim wear tumble dryer! What a life saver that makes. It takes 10 secs and your swim wear is completely dry! So don't panic you will have a wet swimsuits to take back to your room or on the plane with you!
The bar and restaurants were very cosey. The staff was very friendly and at the bar they give you very generous portion of nuts for free to go with your drinks (you pay for the drinks obviously!)
We thought the breakfast was a bit expensive (It was approx £15 pp) so we opted to eat in town. We had a snack in the evening and the food was yummy and very reasonably priced.
The staff thorough the hotel were amazing, very friendly! I will 100% come back, can't fault it at all!
It was just myself and my husband but there were plenty of kids that were happily entertained by the staff, we saw them painting eggs and Easter art and craft.
You have nothing to worry about - Book away!!!

Room Tip: Opt for deluxe king size bedroom
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dessy_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Not very impressive from outside but everything change once you are inside the hotel.

Very effective reception team and helpful too.

Very good breakfast and hope will stay again next time.

A note, hotel not in the heart of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,224 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $96 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing