We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel is in a former maternity hospital and is in reasonably close proximity to the Castle, the Royal Mile, Grassmarket and Old Town. Rooms are clean, comfortable and of a good size. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear fishlove,

It was great to read that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast you had and thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    492
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
241
574
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Friendly hotel with helpful staff. Room was a good size, quiet and spotlessly clean. Hotel is well located for sight seeing and restaurants. There is a bus stop nearby, but we found most things were within walking distance. Good place to stay for a few days in Edinburgh

Room Tip: We were on the side of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. Our room was very quiet. I have no ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, PA
Level Contributor
336 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent four days here in this former maternity hospital. There is a huge park nearby, lots of ethnic food selections nearby, and it is easily walkable to Grassmarket and Edinburgh Castle. The desk staff is very helpful and the breakfast provided in the bed and breakfast package is outstanding.

Edinburgh is a very hilly town, but this hotel is located close enough to some very nice things that it is still walkable. If a cab is necessary they are easy to get and the desk staff will help with that.

There is a small but well-stocked bar for a nightcap.

Americans: bring your own washcloth if you want one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front can be a bit noisy in the morning, with traffic being somewhat heavy. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Cambria5,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you also left useful information for prospective guests. You have clearly travelled extensively and so it was nice to be able to pass on your compliments to our restaurant and reception team.

I hope you enjoyed all that Edinburgh and Scotland had to offer and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have just come back after a two night stay at The Edinburgh City Hotel. On arrival, the receptionist was friendly and helpful giving advice and directions if needed. Our room was a nice size with a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. The room was clean and bright and was cleaned everyday. The central location makes it an ideal place to stay, being only 15 to 20 minutes to the Royal Mile and a great many attractions. Breakfast was excellent, with a great deal of choice.....as much cereal, toast, tea and coffee as you want plus a full scottish breakfast served to you. All in all we had a really enjoyable stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Pollyanna407,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of your time in our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found our hotel the ideal location for you during your visit to Edinburgh.

Many thanks for your recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel well positioned for tourist attractions. Parking is a pain as you have to park in a nearby NCP car park for which the hotel gets you 20% discount. Stayed in room 413. A small room with a normal size double bed. A velux roof window provides the light and ventilation. There wasn't a mirror over the dressing table and the bathroom was dark. The ladies amongst you would notice this more than me.
We had dinner in the restaurant which provide a small but acceptable choice.
Breakfast in the morning was disappointing, although freshly cooked the poached eggs were like bullets . My partner asked for a replacement egg with a soft yolk . This took over 10 minutes to arrive.this lead to us asking questions like which came first the chicken or the egg! The sausages were of poor quality. We decided on a 6 or 7 out of 10 for the breakfast.
Over all the hotel was comfortable and very clean , should really be better for £103 a night inc b/fast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomtheadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Tomtheadder,

Thank you for your review having stayed with us last week. It was disappointing to read that you didn’t enjoy all aspects of your stay, as our aim is always to try and exceed our guests’ expectations. The perfect poached egg is a matter of taste and after you decided you would prefer it softer it could simply have been the case that the chef had a number of orders that his attention was focused on. Regardless, I will speak to the team to make sure we improve for the future.

With regards to parking, I am afraid Edinburgh is a very compact city (which is of great benefit for getting around as a tourist) but this means parking spaces are very limited and most hotels have no parking at all. We have a small courtyard and we operate these spaces on a first come, first served basis. Further to that we have a relationship with an underground NCP car park which is 100m walk from the hotel and as you correctly pointed out guests can receive a 20% discount if they have their ticket stamped at our reception desk.

Thank you for your feedback and I will discuss it with our team to try and make the necessary improvements for future guests.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

we stayed here on Friday - Monday check in was nice and easy, and room was on top floor at the back room 414, nice size with all the gadgets, the room dose need some touch ups, bathroom floor had what looked like rust staines in tiles, and blind had a hole in the bottom of it.
the room was not cleaned every day just bed made and fresh towels. the breakfast was nice good choice, dose take a while so cooked fresh, staff very good.bus stop across the road £3.50
all day ticket, great service central to all the places you want to see, so would stay again.

Room Tip: room 414 at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royaltiger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband and myself for the weekend for his birthday. When I booked it, it was on a special get away deal that the hotel were doing for two nights bed breakfast and evening meal one of the nights. When we arrived the receptionist was very helpful and friendly she booked the restaurant for our meal. I had booked a basic double room and we were extremely surprised with the size of the bed and the room as it was massive!!!! The room and bathroom were very clean. The restaurant staff were also very pleasent and helpful, the food was also well worth the money to the point we decided just to eat there the next night also. The location is just outside the centre of Edinburgh but this wasn't an issue as the bus stop is just outside the back of the hotel and the busses to the centre are every 10/15 mins and for a day ticket at £3.50 you can travel anywhere as often as you like. I also used the facillities and these were also clean and staff was again very helpfull and pleasent. Overall my husband and I had a lovely weekend and would definately use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing