We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traffic Noise is Brutal!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traffic Noise is Brutal!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was very clean and comfortable for the most part. Unfortunately, I barely slept on any of our 3 nights there due to big vehicle traffic noise on Lauriston Place road --- even with wearing earplugs. There is no air conditioning and there was no way we could tolerate having the window open due to the traffic noise that continues through most of the night. Air conditioning would have been very helpful in providing some white noise as well. I'm not able to recommend this hotel for that reason.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Bugmum,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay. Naturally I was disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep and that this resulted in you not wishing to recommend us to others. We do have secondary glazing in all our rooms to minimize any noise disruption and I have myself stayed in a road facing room and was not disrupted by noise. However, I appreciate that everyone has different levels of comfort and that the city is considerably busier and noisier during the festival. Given that you stayed with us for 3 nights I would have preferred for you to have alerted us whilst you were in the hotel so that we could have had the opportunity to move you room to one that you would have considered quieter, and enjoyed a better night’s sleep. Similarly, if you had said to us that you were feeling too hot in your room we could have provided a fan. Unfortunately because our hotel is a listed building we are not in a position to make the structural changes necessary to add air conditioning to all our rooms.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    489
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
235
566
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just wanted to say that we spent a total of 7 days at the Edinburgh City Hotel and it was an excellent experience. The staff were helpful and courteous. Caroline and the hotel manager were wonderful. Staying in the neighborhood where my mother grew up was amazing. I was able to walk the streets and really get a feel for the city. It was so close to everything and the bus was right outside the door. I will be back. Thank you for your gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregontraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Oregontraveler46,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for 7 days and for taking the time to write such kind feedback. It was our pleasure to be able to look after during your stay and I was very pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction. I will be sure to pass on your great feedback to our team.

Hopefully, if you ever return to Edinburgh, we will be able to welcome back.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We really liked the ambiance of this hotel. The outside was stone and looked old (in a good way) but the inside was very modern and clean. It was decorated with modern tartan materials which I liked. The staff was very nice. The only thing I did not like about this hotel is that you have to park in a parking garage and the garage is a little difficult to get to because of the one-way streets. Once parked though it is a close walk to the hotel. I would stay there again if I ever return to Edinburgh. You are not right in the heart of the city (which as a tourist I would consider to be the Royal Mile and Grassmarket) but it was only a 5 pound taxi ride back to the hotel when we didn't want to walk and only a 15 minute walk when we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Casey M,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and taking the time to point out the reasons why you enjoyed your stay with us. Over the last few years our shareholders have invested a lot of money to make the inside of our hotel very modern and comfortable, even though it is an old historic building. Added to that we are lucky to have a great team that is keen to help our guests enjoy their stay. Unfortunately, like many hotels in Edinburgh, we are not blessed with many parking options onsite. You are right in pointing out that the nearest car park is only a short walk but that by the nature of the one way streets in Edinburgh it is a few minutes drive. I will pass on your feedback to our reception team so that they can take extra care in explaining how to get to this parking area for future guests.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very good, straightforward hotel - it does the simple things well, it's clean and efficient, but the staff are a cut above - they were unerringly helpful, friendly and accommodating. It's a bit like a well run, next level up from budget hotel - better than a Premier Inn, a very well run Best Western but with staff who give a far better service that many much classier hotels.

Location is good. Breakfast is very good. The bar and restaurant are a soul-less but efficient- eat out in Edinburgh (Fishers is fab) - but if you are staying in Edinburgh why would you want to stay in your hotel anyway?.
Rooms are clean and fine, although those fronting on on Lauriston Place must be a bit noisy.

I guess it's about what you pay and what you expect. If there's a good rate on offer, stay here and eat/drink out in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: ask for a room that isn't on the high st
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncleharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed two nights in June 2013. Our room was very large, extremely clean, with a modern bathroom with bath/shower. There was an in-room safe and the free WiFi reception was very good. There is very limited off street parking available on a first come first served basis.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in/out was easy and hassle free. The reception staff also serve as bar staff so there is sometimes a short wait for drinks to be served.
The full Scottish breakfast was very good.

The hotel is a short walk to Grassmarket, where there are numerous restaurants and pubs. A bit further on is the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, etc.

Room rates seem a tad expensive but given the location and what other Edinburgh hotels charge, we received reasonable value for money.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear pyctravellingman,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after staying in June whilst travelling with your family. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the services our hotel has to offer and you found our team friendly and helpful.

I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to our team and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in the city and provided a very good service. Staff were kind and our room was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The room did not originally seem to be great value for money but given the higher rates in the city and the overall experience, it is hardly a rip-off. Breakfast was very good, though we did not have dinner. Overall, when I'm next in Edinburgh I will likely stay elsewhere purely due to the choice in the city and the fact that the hotel didn't blow me away, but I would certainly recommend it to other travellers in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a good sized room for our stay and the location was great with the bus to town just outside,so getting about was easy.A short stroll to some good pubs and restaurants in the vicinity .
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytrippers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing