We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just a note to anyone pre-paying for this hotel. My husband had a heart attack 5 days before we were due to go to the hotel but even in these circumstances they refused to change the date. I didn't want a refund I just wanted to re-arrange for when my husband was better. But there was no budging them. They did say they would try to sell the rooms but apparently were unable to which I find strange considering it was a big rugby weekend. I will never book a hotel that has to be pre-paid again. Everyone's circumstances can change unexpectedly. My overall rating for customer service in this hotel is NIL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear julie m,

I sincerely hope your husband makes a full recovery and I am sorry that we were not able to reach the solution that matched your expectations. However, our terms and conditions for an advance purchase reservation are clearly stated at the time of booking, which you accepted. Unfortunately this means abiding by them even in the most difficult circumstances otherwise we lack integrity in offering flexible rates to our other guests without offering them the promotional discount of an advance purchase rate. In order to be fair to all our guests we have to be consistent in how we apply our terms and conditions, and I apologise that this has left you dissatisfied with the outcome. I did explain during your initial phone call that we would do everything we could to re-sell the room, and if we were able to then we would offer a full refund. Given this was a 6 nations rugby weekend, and most customers would have booked their accommodation and travel far in advance, trying to re-sell the room at short notice did not prove successful.

We did our best to help when we received your initial phone call detailing your circumstances and we contacted you following the weekend as we had promised. I hope you are able to use the cancellation invoice you received from us to claim via your travel insurance and enjoy a future trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Travelled to Edinburgh with a group of friends for a to-be-forgotten Six Nations match. However, the hotel was excellent value in a great central location near Grassmarket and Edinburgh Castle. It is located in a former Victorian maternity hospital which added a bit of quirkiness. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable.
Particular praise is due to David the hotel manager and his staff for resolving some booking problems with the rooms (which were probably of our own making) but which were addressed promptly with good humour, charm and a minimum of fuss.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnBOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my fiance for a weekend away to watch a Six Nations rugby match and catch up with some friends. From beginning to end the stay was a delight. Staff were very friendly upon our arrival. Our room was very large and extremely clean with great attention to detail. The bathroom was finished to a great standard and the water pressure/temperature was also great. The customer service is probably the best I have ever experienced in a hotel, especially the Hotel Manager David who was courteous, warm and more importantly available and visible. The staff were even so good as to organise room service when we slept in and missed our breakfast. The breakfast was delicious and just what was needed for a cold day at Murrayfield. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to most major attractions and has a plethora of local bars and shops to peruse. I very rarely take the time to offer reviews of hotels but felt compelled to do so due to the consistent high standard of customer care my fiance and I experienced. I will most certainly be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is on a really great location, just a couple of minutes walk to Grassmarket area (great for a night out, full of oubs and bars), 10 minute walk to Princess street, has a lovely area with loads of restaurants and pubs and some supermarkets as well. Had a lovely walk up to the castle and the old town, it's all so close. Rooms are exactly what you see when booking, nice and clean. We didn't go for breakfast option though, as there were some other places nearby.
Staff at the reception were very friendly ans helpful too.
Will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. Not only did it fit our budget, but it had good reviews on TA, so we booked it.

ROOMS - clean, modern, spacious. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, no noise from neighbors, and all the amenities you could desire.

HOTEL - The hotel itself looks like a little castle, very Edinburgh-esque. Stone exterior, with a quiet little enclave by the entrance. Staff are super friendly, and the hotel itself was clean and quaint. They had a bar/restaurant area and also served breakfast but we didn't try it; so I can't comment there.

LOCATION - Close to the university and a little off from the centre. But it's a short 5-10 minute walk to stores, the centre, and restaurants galore. There is a supermarket nearby if need be too.

If I ever return to Edinburgh, I will DEFINITELY stay here. Check out the Castle, the Whiskey Tour and a take a trip out to the HIghlands if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittensFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear KittensFever,

Thank you for posting such wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us. It was great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and that you had booked to stay with us after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel weekend of the rugby, left cases in hotel at 12 midday, checked in at 11 o,clock at night with no problems at all, room was really large with extra sitting room and absolutely spotless as was the rest of the hotel, staff very pleasant and breakfast really nice, will definately be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location and very close to Princess Street.

Clean and friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

Breakfast wasn't great and had to send back - the chef certainly was not on form that morning and didn't appear in restaurant to apologies for quality (or lack of) of cooked breakfast served.

Overall though would definitely recommend and return in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $84 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing