We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 27 Morningside
Ranked #55 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic B&B within easy reach of the city center via regular bus services. Clean and very comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are superb - fresh fruit, pastries etc. Highly recommend and certainly deserves the 5/5 rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeJWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our 3-night stay with Ron and Julie over the Edinburgh Marathon Festival weekend was just fabulous. The house and rooms are beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean and well-stocked with teas, coffee, water and yummy Scottish biscuits, not to mention the thoughtful hairdryer and mini straigheners we found in the wardrobe! The view from the beautiful huge sash windows is gorgeous from the King Room and we could see right across to the hills surrounding the city. The bed was big and comfortable, and the shower was wonderful. Breakfast was just the perfect selection of everything you could want; the fruit and yogurt was exceptionally fresh and tasty. Ron and Julie really are outstanding hosts, with lots of knowledge and great recommendations both in the local area for walks, pubs, restuarants, and shopping, and also for the 'touristy' things to do in Edinburgh city centre. On arrival, Julie very kindly made us reservations at a local (highly recommended) Italian restuarant, and Ron (also very kindly) offered us early, bespoke marathon-day breakfasts, which I'm convinced helped with achieving 2 marathon PBs! Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them - making sure we were always comfortable and ready for making the most of our time in Edinburgh. Staying here really made the weekend special, and it felt like a home away from home. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Edinburgh now, and can't wait to go back. Thanks Ron and Julie for going the extra mile(s) and for an absolutely brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseAndAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and my husband (who was running the Edinburgh marathon) stayed at 27 Morningside Fri 24th - Mon 27th May with friends. On arrival we were welcomed to the premises by Julie and Ron and immediately felt at home. The rooms are gorgeously decorated, exceptionally clean and the personal touches of bottled water and chocolate (replaced everyday) added to the appeal. Julie kindly booked all 4 of us in a local Italian restaurant down the road while we walked around nearby Blackford Hill. When we returned from our meal out we were asked what time we would like breakfast in the morning - which can I add was lovely! Consisting of a selection fresh berries, yogurt, cereals and a delicious cooked breakfast by Ron. We mentioned to Julie the night before we were planning to walk into Edinburgh and Julie had kindly printed us information on bus routes and important toilet stops! On marathon day Ron and Julie awoke earlier than usual to accommodate the boy's early breakfast before the race and provided wholemeal bagels and bananas for the boys (pre marathon fuel) and suncream as the weather was gloriously sunny! Nothing is too much for Julie and Ron, going above and beyond to make their guests feel comfortable at all times. Julie even printed out our boarding passes in order for us to have a lie in and leisurely breakfast Monday morning. We will defiantly recommend and will be returning to 27 Morningside for next years marathon. Thank you both :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Barber_2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Super one night stay with Ron and Julie. Lovely fresh, clean room. Beautifully decorated rooms.
Great breakfast choice in the morning. Fresh fruit, warm pastries, cereal, toast and fry up. Would definitely stay again and recommended to friends.
Quite a fair walk from the station so wear flat shoes but plenty of buses/taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay with Ron and Julie. They had to wait up for us as our flight did not land in Edinburgh until 11:00pm, and there were no issues there.

The next morning, they did a nice full breakfast for us and even gave us exact change for the bus with no expectation for repayment, though of course we did.

The second morning, they graciously provided breakfast for my brother-in-law in addition to our breakfast at no extra cost and despite the seating issues that arose.

The shower in our room was fantastic, and the bed was quite comfortable. I have no qualms in recommending them to any traveller visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked my German relatives (3 adults, 1 child) into Number 27 Morningside for a two-day stay in Edinburgh. They were very impressed with the rooms and the service: "Julie and Ron were so friendly, attentive and obliging and couldn't do enough for us, lovely clean rooms, thoughtful touches, excellent food and helpful information. Would definitely stay there again and can highly recommend." I much appreciated the time and effort expended by this lovely, genuine couple in ensuring my relatives' first stay in Scotland was an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 107AnnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a lovely one night stay at 27 Morningside. Fabulous property refurbished to high standard in a good area which makes a welcome change from staying in a large hotel. The king size room was very comfortable with lots of little extra touches, bottle of water and chocolate. Room well appointed with extra plugs right by mirror and tea and coffee facilities in room, also with a good size en suite. Ron and Julie very welcoming and created a lovely relaxed atmosphere ready to provide information such as places to eat. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked to order with fresh fruit and pastries also available. I would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast and hope to return soon for another great stay.

Room Tip: King room was on the front of building with nice bay window castle view to the right and Pentland hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pippo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 394 in Edinburgh
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
532 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 27 Morningside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 27 Morningside

Address: 27 Braid Crescent | Morningside, Edinburgh EH10 6AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering bed and breakfast with friendliness and style, Number 27 Morningside is a recently renovated Victorian villa located in the Morningside area of Edinburgh. Your hosts are Ron and Julie and we welcome you to our home. Perfect for the business or leisure visitor, we are just 10 minute bus ride to the city centre, or walk into the centre through Morningside and Bruntsfield, taking in the eclectic collection of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. All rooms have ensuite shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 27 Morningside Hotel Edinburgh
Number 27 Morningside Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing