We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 27 Morningside
Ranked #56 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just finished a 5-night stay at Number 27 while visiting my sister who lives in Morningside. What a lovely B&B. We stayed in the twin room, which was perfect for my mother and I. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom looks like new, and the hot shower was a treat after a cold Scottish day. Ron made a delicious breakfast every morning and was very flexible with timing. We'll definitely stay here again when we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
110
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked into Number 27 for a one night's stay. Ideal location - easy journey into city centre. Bus stops very close to B & B. Julie and Ron were very welcoming. Very helpful suggestions for local cafes/restaurants. Our room was very clean and cosy. Nice touches with the water and chocolates. Breakfast was delicious - with fresh fruit for starters, followed by a cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We were in the twin room - which wasn't that large but was absolutely adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had such a lovely stay at Number 27 Morningside. They made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend to stay here and I know we will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tats1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this very welcoming family run B&B... from the moment we arrived to the day we left nothing was too much trouble for Julie & Ron. On our arrival, even though they were about to go out for the evening, they still found the time to book us in for a meal at the local Italian & give us all the info we'd need on buses & generally made us feel at home.
The Kingsize room was immaculately clean & comfortable. As mentioned in someone else's review the noisy road was a bit of a downside but by the 3rd night I'd grown used to it (hubby sleeps through anything!!).
Literally 2 mins to the bus stops (really reliable service) making access to the centre of Edinburgh easy & cheap.
On returning home Julie & Ron forwarded onto us a couple of things we'd left behind for which we're ever grateful.
A B&B we'd recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrarlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during the Edinburgh Festival. After a long journey it was a pleasure to be greeted with a friendly smile and a fresh pot of tea and a biscuit or two! Julie and Ron were lovely, the service was great and the rooms clean with fresh mineral water and a complimentary chocolate every day!
It was nice to stay out of the city centre a little bit where it was quieter and away from the hustle and bustle of the festival. We had not realised however, that the buses would not continue to run til midnight during the festival and did end up walking home one night but that was our own silly fault!
Would definitely stay here again, we crept in during the small hours most nights and it was nice to be able tot come and go as we pleased without time constraints in place as there often are in B&Bs. Would definitely stay again- thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 4 days here mixing business and catching up with friends. Nothing is too much trouble for Ron and Julie. Breakfasts are excellent with a choice of "healthy" berries with yoghurt or the less healthy traditional Scottish breakfast. Well situated for bus links into the city,or a quick exit South if driving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillthepill_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A real gem of a b and b, really genuine hosts in a sympathetically renovated town house.
Nothing ever too much trouble, real eye for detail, the freshest high quality food served for breakfast.
Rooms immaculate, light and airey.
Only minor let down was the traffic noise which were not used too and the large single glazed original sash windows didn,t do much to keep it out. This was in the kingsize room, we couldn,t say if this was still the case in the other two rooms as they don,t look directly onto the main road as the king does.
Perfectly situated for amazing public transport links into the city for history, culture and shopping!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cluaran Guest House
Cluaran Guest House
#121 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.3 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#81 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kellerstain Stables B&B
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#40 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buckstone B&B
Buckstone B&B
#239 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.7 mi away
15 Merchiston Gardens
15 Merchiston Gardens
#305 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 27 Morningside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 27 Morningside

Property: Number 27 Morningside
Address: 27 Braid Crescent | Morningside, Edinburgh EH10 6AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering bed and breakfast with friendliness and style, Number 27 Morningside is a recently renovated Victorian villa located in the Morningside area of Edinburgh. Your hosts are Ron and Julie and we welcome you to our home. Perfect for the business or leisure visitor, we are just 10 minute bus ride to the city centre, or walk into the centre through Morningside and Bruntsfield, taking in the eclectic collection of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. All rooms have ensuite shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 27 Morningside Hotel Edinburgh
Number 27 Morningside Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing