We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free scone”
Review of Mimi's Bakehouse

Mimi's Bakehouse
Ranked #3 of 34 Bakeries in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh
1 review
“Gluten free scone”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The salad I had was amazing but the gluten-free scone was grim. Please consider revising the recipe for this. Jamie Oliver's (from his website) is the best I have tried so far.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starsiriuskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    353
    128
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast and great coffee ”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped her for breakfast as we stayed room only at the nearby malmaison. We were really impressed And had a lovely breakfast. It wasn't too busy as it was a Friday morning so our food was served very quickly. I chose the French toast with bacon and my husband went for the minis breakfast. It's not the cheapest but we felt value for money with the quality of the service and food. I would love to return to sample the cakes!

Helpful?
1 Thank annie_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Delightful treat”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The design is very funky. Retro but not chintzy. The clientele this afternoon were mainly yummy mummy. I can see why they come here very friendly, good coffee and the cake delicious and 'home'made, I chose mango and coconut chocolate brownie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Desserts in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved these desserts in this cute bakery. There are two locations, one on the Royal Mile and one by the water. Check it out for afternoon tea and dessert.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmysTravelingShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Huge, delicious cakes & lovely service”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've been to Mimi's a couple of times now and I just loooooove their cakes! Beware though, the size of a slice of cake for one person is absolutely huge! I had to share it with my boyfriend and we hardly made it! Last time I was there I also tried the food and it was again huge portion and delicious!

I love the unique style of Mimi's and how it's always buzzing with people. Must try!

Helpful hint: If you're planning on visiting during the weekend, booking a table is a must!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwro8ea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Bakehouse also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mimi's Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing