We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good holiday inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #91 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
durham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“good holiday inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We chose this slightly out of town hotel because we were driving and didn't want the hassle of a drive into the city centre.The driving directions given on the website however are a bit confusing-be prepared to drive a couple of miles along Queensferry road towards the city centre.We thought we must have taken the wrong route as Queensferry road does not appear on houses lining the route!
Once we found it the area is fine-there's a retail park with a Sainsbury's on the other side of the road for a cheaper option to the hotel restaurant.Bus services into the city centre are every 10 minutes but it is too far out to walk.
Holiday inns tend to vary across the brand-this one is fine-we paid £70 advance purchase rate including breakfast which was good value.Rooms are clean and spacious and the entrance foyer is also clean and modern looking

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    317
    161
    34
    17
See reviews for
228
207
38
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights over Easter. We got a good deal through the hotel web-site £72 bed and breakfast per night with a 3-course evening meal on one night. Check in was excellent and our room on the 5th floor overlooked the City with great views. The room was adequate but the bathroom was tiny - I mean tiny! (half the size of the Holiday Inn Express room in Perth where we travelled on to). The bar area was fine and there was a big screen showing sport for those who wanted it but adequate quieter areas for those who didn't.

Breakfast and the evening meal were good value but the big negative was the furnishings throughout the bar and restaurant area. The fabric of several chairs was ripped with the stuffing showing. Rerally untidy and certainly not what you would expect of a 4* hotel. Very disappointing.

The hotel is functional with very good free parking. You can expect to mingle with tourists of various nationalities as the hotel is obviously on the tourist tour route.

The hotel is 2 miles out of the city but there are bus stops directly outside and the fare into town is only £1.20. (Bus number 41). Edinburgh is a fantastic city!

We would probably stay again at the rate we got but the hotel really must repalce the furnishings.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

I am too much of a planner to use websites like Priceline, but I decided to give it a try for a recent weekend trip from our current home in London to Edinburgh. I requested a three star hotel within the city centre for $50USD per night, and much to my surprise my request was not rejected; I was booked at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh North. While I disagree with Priceline's categorization of this hotel as being located in the city centre (the name after all is Holiday Inn *North*), we ended up enjoying our stay, and the value was excellent. The room was clean, functional, standard Holiday Inn fare, and the breakfast (not included in the $50 price) was decent. The hotel was a quick taxi ride from the airport, and approximately a ten minute bus ride from outside the hotel into the centre. Be sure to have exact change. We took the bus into the centre each day, and a taxi ride home at night which cost 10-15GBP. I laughed at the hotel's posted standard tariff of 270GBP per night, but I would definitely stay again for the price we paid as we were only in the room to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I have stayed in the Holiday Inn Edinburgh North a few times. On the whole its reasonably tired, but clean and adequate.

High rooms to the East have good views of the castle and the panorma towards leith, but if you like peace and quite, avoid the top floor 6, as there is quite a lot of low frequency noise and vibration, presumbly from air conditioining/heating units on the roof.

There is little to do in the local vicinity. There are a bunch of shops in the craig leith shopping center 5 minutes away. Noteable a Kentuck fired chicken and Marks and Spencers simply food. Add to this a couple of chinese takeaways, and that's your only choice for food within walking distance (other than in the hotel). There is a large Chenist (boots) and sainsburys supermarket there too, generally all open until 8pm in the week.

Its not far to walk to join the Water of leith, a nice walk that will take you a long the stream/river to the north of princes street via a very pretty walk though deans village and past the botanical gardens.

PC (plat) members get a free drink voucher, and bar of chocolate, water.

Parking is plentiful and free, a real bonus for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorianNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
212 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

Deserves much better than Tripadvisor's mid-ranking for hotels in Edinburgh,

Found it all excellent value, good-standard accommodation, not located in absolute city cenre but a short and convenient bus ride away.

The staff were all exceedingly polite attentive and pleasant and the food [we stayed D B & B] surprizingly good.

  • Liked — value for money; tasteful decor
  • Disliked — king bed would have been better as a double
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We booked the hotel as a last minute deal and were pleased with the £49 per night room tariff, Check in was swift and we quickly made it to our room. The room was spacious, with a double bed and a comfortable sofa bed. The bathroom was also a good size, although had some minor paintwork that could have done with a bit of attention. We were able to choose our pillows (which i think is common place in the holiday Inn.) The room was quiet with amazing views over the city centre. Just outside of the hotel was the bus stop, which provided a 10 minute journey into Ediburgh town centre.
The breakfast provided a good range of cooked/cereal/fruit/toast and was brilliant for what we wanted.
Overall our experience was a very pleasant one.

  • Liked — The price, accomodation, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campsitechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed here on 1st November for an overnight stay. When we booked we asked for a castle view which is offered on the website by request. Were were allocated a room on the 1st floor after double checking that we had been given a castle view. (Whilst checking in when I asked about the time of breakfast and whether we had a castle view, the gentleman, murmered, "just wait madam," then proceeded to give me what was probably a rendition of his rehearsed script which he finished with breakfast times. It was clear that he was unable to respond to my spontaneous questions either through his own lack of ability to understand, speak or communicate in English other than deliver his script verbatim).

Nonetheless when we eagerly entered the room moments later, we expectantly hurried towards the window to see a wall of trees (very nice trees) but no view of the castle other than an occasional glimpse of an indistinguishable "something else".

The 4 of us trundled back down to reception with our luggage. "Erm we had requested a castle view when we booked and we can only see trees" we said to the same receptionist who was now moving his weight from one foot to the other. With virtually no dialogue, he pressed some keys on his computer keyboard and asked "you want smoking room?" to which I replied, "no as our children are both asthmatic and we specifically booked a non smoking room with a castle view." After further keyboard bashing the receptionist then scribbled a new number on our booking in card and we guessed that this was on the fourth floor. On entering the bedroom, the view was spectacular. A 180degrees panoramic view taking in the firth of forth, incholme, the lighthouse, city centre and the castle. Wonderful! Other than the view the room was identical to the first one! Why could we not have been given that room in the first place? There were other people staying on the same floor but it was by no means full of guests.

The bathroom was small but functional.

In the evening our son was feeling a little unwell so we decided to eat at the hotel bar for convenience. The veggie option my husband picked was not available prompting him to moan to me about how veggies always get a hard time on the hotel food front. We ordered two pepsis for the children which although on the bar menu, were not actually available from the bar. When they did get alternative drinks, they were flat with no fizz and we had to take them back, after which the barman (having tasted them himself and agreeing) replaced them with bottled cola. Ordering the food and drinks took quite some time as although the bar was reasonably empty, another group had been overcharged and the barmen (yes it took 2 of them to stop serving for 10 minutes and work out what one of them had done wrong) appeared to be trying to work out how to refund the money. Also an elderly couple next to us appeared to be on possibly their third replacement meal and there seemed to be lots of fawning apologies going on.

When we checked out the next day, we saw the only other couple in the bar that night, querying an over-charge on their bill.

Overall it was ok - bit disappointing in that some of the staff did not appear to speak or comprehend English (ok we were in Scotland) - but it was still rather irritating when the nature of the job requires at least a basic understanding of, and ability to respond, to dialogue with guests . We would stay again for the view and the price - £60 bed and breakfast for a family of 4 or £15 each per night.

  • Liked — The view of the castle
  • Disliked — The small bathroom and inability of reception and bar staff to communicate effectively in English
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngaSimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing