We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel- very average food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #91 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent hotel- very average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here last week on business. Nice hotel, upgraded to a mini suite which was great. As others have said rooms need heating, air con on warm is ok but ninth cold weather I can see issue.
Ordered room service , sirloin steak which was ok, however like every holiday inn breakfast is always average. Under lights things get bland and cold.
Come on all Holiday Inns -UP YOUR GAME on breakfasts!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    313
    159
    34
    17
See reviews for
223
206
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent value for money, stayed 6 or seven times and never can I complain (that is unusual for me)

Staff are prepared to help. always good value, food is very good with a good choice, Easy access to the city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and can't fault this hotel. The car park is free and the hotel is about 2 miles from the city centre. The bus stop is outside but we used taxis - about £8-10. Our room was on the fifth floor and was very spacious with a great view looking over the city and castle. The bathroom was very nice with fluffy white towels and toiletries changed every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who booked our table at a city centre restaurant. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices and very nice coffee. I would definitely return here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my 2nd time staying here in the last couple of months and I have found the hotel very friendly and welcoming, and the restaurant is very good. Emma sorted out my food order and was unfailingly polite, helpful and friendly throughout, and the food was of a good standard as always. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed here for one night and the hotel is fine and has its own free car park and is generally a good standard, though bits do look a little tired.
My room was right outside the lifts and i was a bit worried but no exessive noise here. A little noisy from the main road outside but this side also has the view of Edinburgh.
Evening meal was dissapointing for HI stds, quite a few options 'off' and what was left was ok but not brilliant, seemed a little understaffed at dinner and breakfast, had to ask 3 times for coffee, but staff ok.
Reception very helpful with telling me which bus to get into town - stop outside front door

Room Tip: Rooms on road side are a little noisy, if you want a long lie try room to back. If you want the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller123456277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear traveller123456277 ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now while visiting Scotland on business and have never yet been disappointed by the hotel. Yes, there have been a couple of times when things have not gone well in the restaurant but both times it was resolved quickly, with a minimum of fuss, and a very positive attitude by an excellent manager.
I have always been lucky enough to get an upgrade to a mini suite which is great as you get a lot more room which is important when you are there for a few days.
The hotel is small enough to be cosy and I have always found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. In my experience you get good treatment if you respect the staff and that is certainly so here.
If there is a downside it is that there is very little in the immediate area of interest so you do need to get out and about, but if you are just wanting a base from which to tour or somewhere quiet and comfortable for a business trip then you shouldn't be disappointed.
I have put average for sleep quality simply because the hotel is quite high up and exposed and a coupel of times the wind noise has been so bad that sleep has been difficult.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in one of the suites. It was clean and warm and all the facillities worked. No complaints there.
I had a meal in the evening in the restaurant. The food was well cooked and hot and the service was very good too. The staff ensured I had everything without being over fussy and were professional.
At breakfast however, the service was the opposite. I was shown to a dirty table(someone had recently left the table fter their breakfast) and the used cups and plates were still on the table. There were other tables available. I was assured by the time I returned from the buffet, the table would be cleaned. It wasn't. I had to ask for it to be cleaned. Not impresed.
It was a pity really as the evening staff had been so attentative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl-on-Acid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Owl-on-Acid,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the team here at the hotel and the facilities that we have to offer.

I apologize for the poor expereince and service issues you have encountered in our breakfast area. Nonetheless, it was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. With this in mind, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing