We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Nearby Hotels
$503
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$168
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveler rating
298
364
178
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
364
178
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitequeensferry roadretail parktwo double bedsupgraded to a suitefifth floorgood sizefree wifiminute bus ridebus servicean upgradereception stafftwo night staystayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentfamily roomhaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 904 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Travelled to Edinburgh for a city break with my sister-in-law, stayed two nights at the hotel. Allocated on the 5th floor, had a fantastic view over the city from our window. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful especially Pema Yuden who checked us in and out, an extremely pleasant person and highly professional, helped us with all kind of information about the hotel and the city, special thanks to her!

Hotel located a bit out of the city centre and all sight seeing, on Queensferry Road which is an extention of Queensferry Street, about 20-30 minutes walking, but very well connected in terms of public transport, buses 41 and 43 take you there for about 5 minutes and cost you 1.45£ one way or about 3.50 for the whole day (prepare to have the exact change as they don't give back!:-). The hotel is also within easy reach from the airport-there is an Airlink Bus that runs every 10-15 minutes from the city centre and costs 6£ return.

There is an enormous Sainsbury's just across the hotel, Boots and TK Maxx, as well as the Craigleith Retail Park where you can find stores like Next, Dorothy Perkins, etc.
The hotel is very suitable for a business trip, as well as leisure and trips for families with kids as the area is very quiet. The hotel lobby bar is really small but as I've already mentioned very easy to get to the city centre where all pubs and bars are.

We had a great stay and will definitely come back! Edinburgh is a wonderful city, loads to see and experience, and Scottish people are really nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivelina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked through super break for a dinner bed and breakfast deal. The meal was amazing and the service efficient. We were very impressed with the service provided by Gaurav who was very attentive and caring thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kollUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Travelled to Edinburgh for Xmas Market last week, arrived at hotel and The reception received was not what you expect as a loyalty member, cold reception staff, no welcome/thank you for choosing, no chocolate bar in the room or upgraded tea tray and worst of all no heating !
After raising this with the front desk and asking to be moved we were given a room on the 1st floor and happy to say everything was in order. Shame that I had to raise the issue though as the hotel must have been aware of the lack of heating in the original room.
Breakfast was quite good, especially the ability to have your eggs cooked on request although the amount of food available with 30-40 minutes of service left could have been better.
What was pleasing was the attitude and manner of the breakfast room staff, they were very efficient and friendly. Overall the hotel is quite good for a Holiday Inn and I would stay again in the hop/expectation that some of the issues I experienced were a one off.

Room Tip: Avoid the room with no heating !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18SCFC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First visit to this hotel as we got a really good rate. Easy to find from the Forth Road Bridge. Reception fulfilled our request for a room away from the lift on a high floor and with a castle view which was fabulous. Nice cosy room, very quiet, perhaps a little tired around the edges but for what we paid, we had no reason to complain. Free onsite parking and the proximity of the 41 bus into town was a real plus for us. £1.40 flat fare, frequent services, straight to and from the city so no hefty taxi fares or parking worries. Didn't try breakfast so can't comment. Really enjoyed watching the squirrels in the trees on the edge of the carpark! Booked to return in February as we got an even better rate for that weekend :) Based on this one visit, this hotel would be our first choice for trips to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: As for a castle view room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Above average for other Holiday Inns given the special offer price we had despite the building being a little dated. Pleasant room on the third floor with magnificent views across the city. Well furnished and with a comfortable bed with a selection of pillows! Heating / air-conditioning that worked. Tea making facility replenished daily along with bed making, towel changing, large TV, soundproof (enough) room though we could hear a Christmas Party below but it did finish at midnight. The breakfast was exceptional - staff who were helpful, food that was plentiful and varied. You could even have your egg fried / poached to order! Yes we will go again.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank kenpimlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews