We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #92 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed here for one night for a Concert being held at Murrayfield Stadium within a short distance . Very nice Hotel , staff very friendly from the Reception to the Bar and Dining rooms . Had a wonderful view of the City from the 6th floor . Beds very comfortable although the walls seem to be paper thin ( annoying guests in the next room ) . Overall an enjoyable short stay and would definately use this Hotel again !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigmordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    329
    169
    36
    18
See reviews for
241
215
40
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Brilliant views from the upper floors.
Room with double bed are a good size.
High quality TV.
Annoying pay-as-you-go internet service.
Odd, awkward bathroom layout.
Several corridor ice machines out of order on more than one occassion.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to enjoy great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eTood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel is more a suped up Holiday Inn Express than a proper Holiday Inn but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. There's free parking on-site and you will probably use your car as the hotel isn't very central

The only disappointment was that my booking agent stated that this hotel had pool and leisure facilities but it doesn't.

There are better hotels around but this one suited me for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed in this place on our onward journey to Highlands. Has free parking space. Didn't get to experience their restaurant. Rooms were clean and beds were good. AC worked well and the rooms have a good view.Checkin/checkout process were very quick.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VnKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Had a great stay in Mid May. Really nice staff, fantastic views of the Castle, good parking

Room Tip: Ask for Castle view room and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Happy with hotel overall, but not great location. Receptionist was a bit blunt with attitude but happy with rest of stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was greeted at Holiday Inn with a power outage. There was no power on two floors and lifts were out of order. The staff wasn't particularly presentable and seemed indifferent of the fact that there was no power. I had a room on the 4th floor and had to climb up 4 floors carrying the luggage myself. One good thing about the room was that it had a spectacular view. Though there was no power on first two floors, my room had power to keep the lights running. But this completely went off for 30 min at around 23:00. This is absolutely unacceptable from a star hotel like Holiday Inn.
The housekeeping was unimpressive as well. Though they changed the sheets, they didn't bother to clean up the room entirely. The stuff lying on floor was kept as it is for two days. The toileteries used in the bathroom were replaced but the old ones never cleaned. And, there was no refrigerator in the room!
Finally the room service was also a let down. I ordered Chicken Tikka curry for dinner at around 11pm only to get a call after 30 min saying that it was unavailable. When I enquired why it took them so much time to get back to me, they said that they were 'very busy' at that time (busy at midnight??).
This was my first stay with Holiday Inn and I had expected much better standards. I don't think I'll get back to Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,192 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing