We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hike”
Review of Arthur's Seat

Arthur's Seat
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.82*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$138.76*
and up
Private Tour of Edinburgh in a Mini Cooper
More Info
$104.40*
and up
City Of Edinburgh Helicopter Tour
Ranked #1 of 404 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arthur's Seat is one of four hill forts, dating from around 2,000 years ago. Situated within Holyrood Park, as well as it's rich cultural heritage, the park offers walks, solace, wildlife, volcanic geology and unparalleled vistas of the city from its many vantage points. The park has several Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) designations due to its exceptional range of grassland habitats and its internationally important volcanic geology. Ranger service on site.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great hike up the side of the mountain overlooking the sea. If you're looking for some outdoor fun, this is for you!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,818
    3,002
    342
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great on a sunny day !”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great loaction to get your walking boots on and see the beautiful sites of Edinburgh . The walk is qutie steep so good shoes and weather condition for average walker would be advised ! Easy to get too just walk down the Royal mile until u get to the bottom of the hill

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahlbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous view!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Definitely wortha hike during the sunny days! The view from the top is simply fabulous! Not gonna reveal more! Just give it a go!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must See!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 weeks in Scotland and Ireland for our honeymoon. We ended up staying 5 days in Edinburgh (2 traveling to surrounding areas, 3 in the city) and we hiked Arthur's Seat on our 3rd day. It was INCREDIBLE!!!!

We walked over from our hotel (Just up from the main train station) and the walk thru town to the start of the trails was nice. We did the mid-week during the morning and while we ran into other folks/couples, it was not busy at all. There were a bunch fo options for hiking to the top, so we took the route that lead by the ruins as well (Very neat to see)

While it is windy at the top, the view is breath taking. We ended up hanging out at/near the top for an hour just to take it all in. It was a bit chilly, but we had on the right outdoor gear and did fine. Must see if you spend more then a couple days in the city!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank statelax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When i went I had a recent injury which meant walking all the way up would have been tricky. We went by car most of the way and then climbed to the summit. Well worth the effort. Amazing views but make sure you have decent foot ware on.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur's Seat also viewed

 

Been to Arthur's Seat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing