We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite rightly the favourite restaurant of my daughter”
Review of Kims Mini Meals

Kims Mini Meals
Ranked #105 of 2,488 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $13 - $15
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Dear Kim's Patrons, We update some our food pictures with better cameras. As you know, we do not use any MSG and we only open from 5:30 to 8:30 because we prepare for long hours and use fresh products and good quality meats and cook perfectly clean.(For example, Aberdeen Angus Beef, 5% Scotch Beef Mince and rooster potatoes, three times as expensive as regular potatoes) And we do not take any reservations that's why if you come around 5:15 pm , or 6:15pm, or 7:15 or 8:00 you will be waiting for short time. Thank you!!!
Reviewed July 20, 2016

- tiny but cosy (be there at 5:20 pm to be the first or leave your mobile number at the staff to inform you when your table is ready (normally within 30 minutes))
- accommodating staff
- great food

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dd_familie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 344 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

Kim's Mini Meals is a tiny restraunt with a massive punch! We waited outside for about 20 mins (fills up really quickly and no reservations allowed) but the whole time the Manager kept coming out to check on everyone and to make sure ppl were happy and had menus. Once seated our order was taken immediately by a friendly server. I had the beef bibimbap and my partner had the pork Bougali, food came out pretty much straight away, piping hot and SO SO good! The portions are very generous and they came with free mini sides. The kimchi here is really good, as is their grape juice which may be a bit of a weird thing to mention but I think it's made on the premises and really refreshing! The whole time the server and manager checked on us (without being obtrusive) and had really good chat, he's a funny kind guy! It's BYOB and food overall came in pretty cheap. I've been looking for an authentic Korean for ages and this was def worth the visit from Glasgow. Would come again!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

So I would like to say that firstly do not go here with kids unless you arrive at 5:30 pm or just before. If you arrive later than that you are likely to be waiting outside for 20-30 minutes. Aside from that the other negative is that the service is a little impersonal especially from the younger man. This is understandable as he has to move around quickly and serve the few tables there are to increase turnover rate but then again I have been living in Uzbekistan for the past several years where there are always too many servers. The food on the whole was good. They give you a free starter (banchan) which includes kimchi but it is very small. All the dishes come with free rice and free refills. The kimchi and the food in general was not spicy. If you really want spicy food you have to tell them because I have had Korean food way hotter than this. Overall the experience was good and I would go back. Just so you know main meals are £10 and starters are £8

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank smallpineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for authentic home made Korean cuisine in the UK, this would be it. We ordered a chef's special aubergine starter, with 2 mains. The mains come with a free soup and Korean side dishes. First came the soup, the side dishes, then the ordered starter, the bar has now been set really high. I highly recommend the Beef Bulgogi made out of Aberdeen Angus Beef. Tender, juicy and cooked about just right. The Dol sot Bibimbap ingredients used are of the freshest quality, and I just can't praise enough of the Kimchi! The meals are decently priced, huge portions, with unlimited rice refills! They are also recently recommended in the 2016 Michelin Guide.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank vicol580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

The dolsot galbi was probably the best I've had in a while! It's a family-run restaurant and service was really good! I think the mum and brother were in the kitchen while the dad and the sister were running the floor. Value for money, and they also cater for vegetarians! The restaurant is pretty tiny, so go early to avoid disappointments :) Food came really quickly as well - good for the hungry tummies! The decorations in the place were a plus! :) Super cute restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 903gaylel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Kims Mini Meals also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kims Mini Meals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.