We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous evening”
Review of Cafe Marlayne

Cafe Marlayne
Ranked #88 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: New Town
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The team at Cafe Marlayne did a fabulous job last Saturday night for a large party of 16 for a small celebration. The restaurant is smaller and more traditionally quant than their other restaurant in town, so we were seated on two tables due to space restrictions. We knew this would be the case and it did not detract form a great evening where everyone was served pretty much at the same time for each course. There were clean plates and smiles from everyone. The chef did an awesome job as did the waiting staff. As we have experienced in the past, excellent food at really good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonburns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    133
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

You must book this place probably a week in advance...at least, and you're likely to get a time slot too. It's a small restaurant with cool décor. The service is great and the menu changes frequently - they obviously use fresh, local, in season ingredients. The menu is fresh and interesting but not the cheapest. For 3 courses and wine you'd pay over £30 but it is totally worth it! Would be fantastic for a special occasion.
Finally, if there is cheesecake on the menu, you MUST order it! The honey and vanilla cheesecake was the most out of this world cheesecake I've ever had....EVER! AMAZING!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakeycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place sets a high benchmark for value for money and never disappoints. French rustic cooking at its best, no nouvelle cuisine here!
Very few restaurants have all courses covered well but Cafe Marlayne does with a ceese cake not to be missed (OK not very French).
A nice selection of wine and prices that are hard to beat in this town.
Only small criticism - because of it's size a badly placed table is possible.
Since it opened around thirteen years ago it keeps ticking the right boxes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Small and perfectly formed...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had dinner here with my brother and his wife on Wednesday. I had been to the Antigua St branch before and so expected a good experience - and it was! A lovely little space with a warm cosy - but still 'urban' - vibe. Between us we had something from all three courses, ranging from the very meaty (boudin noir) to the very fishy (sea bass) and all were excellent. I had a lovely warm apricot frangipan tart for pudding (yum!)), my brother had an enormous plate of cheese (deemed very good) and my sister in law a chocolate and pistachio cake (she had expected a dark cake but it was in fact a pistachio cake with white chocolate filling and icing - still good though).
The service was excellent, despite there being just one waitress for the entire restaurant - it was full so she did a fantastic and very efficient job. I was a guest so didn't see the final bill but, judging from the menu, prices looked just what you'd expect for a city centre location and very decent quality.
I shall be sure to revisit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stumbled upon this wonderful tiny French bistro, I actually was planning on going across the street for Thai. Anyway, I'm thrilled they couldn't take me since I had a lovely 3 course meal for under £40 w/ service and 2 glasses of wine. The waitress did a great job servicing all te ables on her own. I loved this bistro and will go back. Great cosy atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Marlayne also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Marlayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing