We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Hard Rock Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #211 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh is located just a short distance from the world famous Edinburgh Castle. Other popular destinations nearby include National Museum of Scotland, Holyrood Park, and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. We invite you to drink, dine, and enjoy yourself in a contemporary, laid back atmosphere. Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh offers guests a delectable menu featuring house made entrees prepared with a touch of local flavors. Other enticing menu options include our Legendary Burger, fresh salads, and hand crafted cocktails. Whether you are looking for a delicious meal or just want to grab a drink with friends, we've got you covered.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been eating out at The Hard Rock Cafe with my husband and son for many years and over the years there have been occasions where the quality of the food has dipped and times where it's been absolutely outstanding. At the moment I would say its very good (with one exception..which I'll come to).
On our most recent visits the service has been fast, efficient and friendly as always. If you need ingredients or menu items altered slightly to your dietary requirements or preferences these will be accommodated if possible. Prices for food is high compared to similar restaurants however portion sizes are HUGE so come hungry! However bar prices are quite reasonable by Edinburgh standards. They have a wide range of cocktails and every one I've tried has been delicious. The menu itself isn't vast, and hasn't changed much over the years, and it's pretty much the same in every Cafe I've been in many locations over the world. The decor of the restaurant is somewhat tame compared to other Cafes I've been in and the bar is small and can be very busy. You will have a wait to be seated as its always busy, and children are not allowed at the bar why you wait which is quite inconvenient for families, especially as there is no room elsewhere to wait especially if there are a few parties waiting. However, the whole place is always spotless (the ladies has been short of loo roll on a few occasions)
I have one major gripe. Their nachos. I used or love the nachos! However something has changed over the past year or two..I don't know what it is..but they aren't the same. We used to visit the Cafe especially for the nachos and now, to be honest, after our past couple of visits, they've lost it. I won't be ordering them again. Nachos in places like Chiquitos are now much better (in my humble opinion!)
As long as the food quality and friendly service continue, despite a few little gripes, we shall continue to eat here when we visit Edinburgh. We just won't have the nachos!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrszombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I'm really glad you had a great time and we were able to rock your world. I'm sorry to hear you are no longer fans of our Nachos. The recipe did change last year to include a homemade queso cheese sauce but we can do it without if you'd prefer. Next time just let the server know how you like it and we'll sort it out for you. I have shared your comments with the team here at the Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

In the mean time (if you already haven't) why not sign up to our VIP REWARDS loyalty program at hardrockrewards.com where you will be able to get loads of benefits such as first available priority seating and earn points for every pound you spend at any of our participating properties across the globe! Plus we'll make sure you are treated like a rock star every time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    997
    753
    324
    118
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal for a long time and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went here last week thought all the talk about this was hype, but i have to say it is without a doubt the best experience i have had for a long time , service is great and attentive, food fresh and served hot

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I'm really glad you had a great time and we were able to rock your world. Your feedback is important to us and I have shared your comments with the team here at the Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

In the mean time why not sign up to our VIP REWARDS loyalty program at hardrockrewards.com where you will be able to get loads of benefits such as first available priority seating and earn points for every pound you spend at any of our participating properties across the globe! Plus we'll make sure you are treated like a rock star every time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great atmosphere ,very pleasant and helpful staff. We were told we would have to wait fifteen minutes for a table but only waited about five. Food good, large portions i advise anyone to share a starter or a sweet! Mains are large too.Drinks and cocktails good. The place was buzzing and very busy, it was a Saturday afternoon i suppose!This was my first visit cant wait to go again! We shopped in the small souvigneir shop adjoined to the Cafe and the staff member who served us was very helpful too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magstar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to our restaurant. We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your experience in our cafe. We pride ourselves on great customer service and look forward to rocking your world again soon.

In the mean time why not like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and keep up to date with our latest offers and events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food and service after what had clearly been a very busy shift for the staff
Delicious cocktails
Waited an hour for a table but the cocktails at the bar made it worth the wait :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garydavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review and I will cetainly pass your comments around with the team.

If you enjoyed the cocktails next time you are in you must try one of our new cocktails that have launched recently - Gini Hendrix, English Garden and Flammin Hot Hot Hot!

Hope to see you again soon but in the mean time why not like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and keep up to date with our latest offers and events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always Delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Never had a bad meal or a bad experience here. No matter if its busy or not, the service is always spot on and friendly. The food is always top notch for a place of this type.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinC235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I'm really glad you had a great time and we were able to rock your world. It's great to get some positive feedback especially about our service and the food.

In the mean time (if you haven't already) why not sign up to our VIP REWARDS loyalty program at hardrockrewards.com where you will be able to get loads of benefits such as first available priority seating and earn points for every pound you spend at any of our participating properties across the globe! Plus we'll make sure you are treated like a rock star every time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing