We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a find in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked a 3 night weekend stay so were able to take advantage of a good deal. Cannot praise the staff enough from the moment we arrived to when we left. Super friendly, super helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Our room was large and well appointed and the bathroom was HUGE with a deep roll top bath. VERY comfortable and big bed. Our only observations - one of which we pointed out when we left - a small easy chair would have been nice and also for the ladies, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom

. As other people have said it it is bit noisy from the street in the wee small hours but then you are very central. We did not hear any noise from the bar even though we were directly above it. Food is very good especially the fish supper served in newspaper. Cooked Breakfast was plentiful, not a huge choice of other things but what there is is extremely good. Very well stocked bar - found gins I had never heard of before!
We can highly recommend this pub come boutique hotel - you won't be disappointed!! Who needs faceless chain hotels when you can have quality and individuality like this !

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if sleep quality is paramount due to street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pappy965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi pappy965

WOW thanks for a stunning review of your stay, so happy the team made your visit enjoyable will pass on these comments at our next meeting. The rooms are great and our bathrooms keep getting great comments especially the deep luxurious baths. Our kitchen team will be over the moon with your review as they can be overlooked sometimes but the effort these guys put in needs to recognised and as you stated no over complicated menu just good well prepared hearty cooking.

Thanks again for taking the time out to review your stay at The Inn on the Mile.

Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. Hotel is in a great location, 10 minutes walk from the train station and handy for many sightseeing destinations. The room (no.7 on the top floor) was lovely and far enough above the bar to hear nothing from below. We ate in the bar two nights and breakfast twice. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was pretty good. Would definitely recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_r_woodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi a_r_woodward

Thanks for reviewing your weekend stay at our Inn on the Mile hotel, it really makes our day to see our guest comments and thoughts regarding the experience they had. You mentioned the location of the hotel which is really close to Waverley Train station, and once at the hotel you are central to most of the tourist attractions in Edinburgh. I will pass on your kind comments to our team regarding the service and food.

Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell and the IOTM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very noisy area , main road ,buses, bin men, and drunks shouting all night even ear plugs did not drown the noise
Are Scottish laws different to English regarding PAT electrical testing ? I did not find one item that had a pass sticker and the base of the kettle in the room was stuck together with blue tape ?
Shower kept dripping for ages after it had been turned off and not just a drip it was a steady trickle , mans shoe print on the bathroom floor and was there the next day so the floor obviously not been washed properly,tea and coffee not replenished every day I pod dock did not work properly , evening food just acceptable but breakfast very good and the staff are very friendly and cannot help you enough and that is the best thing about this hotel I am sorry to say . I had high hopes when I read the other reviews but I would not stay there again , very disappointed

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Duchessrules1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi Duchessrules1957

Thanks for the great comments regarding our teams service and the quality of the breakfast. I have reported the maintanance issues and can confirm we have now resolved them. The housekeeping team work hard to maintain the high expectation of The Inn on the mile standards, small area's may have been overlooked this day but we will ensure we review and re-train on these area's. In relation to the PAT testing we are currently in our first year of trade and will be conducting these tests later in the year.

I again thank you for comments and we work in a positive manner to resolve them.

Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here with a friend as a last min thing , i can honestly say it was the best decision , hotel in a great location , rooms were fantastic , had a great nights sleep and all you could need from a room including GHD staightners !! staff in the inn on the mile were all lovely , and we had a great night in the pub with entertainment too .
Would highly recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi ChristinaC411

Thanks for your kind review of your spontaneous decision to stay another night in Edinburgh, it sound like our Inn on the Mile hotel made that idea worthwhile. We are glad you enjoyed the live music our venue really comes into it's own on these evenings.

Our team looks to welcome you back soon and you know where you going next time. :)

Thanks again
Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for a long weekend and had a brilliant time. The location is great, the staff are helpful and courteous, there are loads of little extras and the rooms are very comfortable. It's within waking distance of all the principal tourist sites and is near to tons of great bars and restaurants. The food and drink in the pub on the ground floor is good in itself too. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Black11Hawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi Black11Hawk

Thank you for taking some time out to review your stay with us, it sounds like you enjoyed what The Inn on the Mile had to offer. The location of the hotel really does help our guests get the real feel of the city with everything being so close at hand. We are so happy the rooms were to you liking and all the little extras made your experience memorable.

Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I took my girlfriend for her birthday. Very nice breakfasts. rooms were spotless although our room was a tad small (room 8) but the rest looked a lot bigger in the pictures and plans. The people working here cant do enough for you. They were helpful with our bags, every time we ate there they were very friendly and even helped print off our tickets. The hotel is very nicely decorated throughout and i found it very easy to relax in. As for location everything we did while we were in edinburgh was within a 10 minute walk. The castle, shopping on princes street, greyfriars bobby and a show at the festival theatre. We are already planning our next trips to stay here and share with others.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Joe L

Thanks for your review of your stay at our Inn on the Mile hotel, the location of the hotel really is advantageous for those who want to see Edinburgh's key attractions. I will be sure to share with the team that you found them friendly and their service was up to standard.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to hotel soon.

Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend and fell in love with the room! I know some have highlighted an issue with noise but it didn't bother us in the slightest, our room was very quiet. Absolutely loved the room, the only thing I would want to highlight is the iPod system is only for older iPhones so unfortunately I couldn't use it with my own! When we arrived at 2pm to check in they were issues with their system so we were unable to check in straight away, but we were quickly offered complimentary drinks which was a lovely touch. After about 20 minutes we were taken to our room on the top floor and it was the best hotel room I think I've ever stayed in, as I said I quickly fell in love with the place. The bathroom was perfect (I think everyone needs to try the bath it was huge!!) the bed was amazing and all the little touches were very much appreciated. It was very hard to leave the next morning! Definitely will be returning at some point in the summer. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modern and central hotel in Edinburgh!

Perfect location, staff and room :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camellia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Camellia27

Thanks for taking the time out to review your stay, it is very much appreciated. We are so happy you loved the hotel, it really does cheer us up when we get reviews like this. We are looking into making the iPod docking station a universal unit for all devices, so watch this space. The bathrooms are amazing and as highlight the bath is huge....

Thanks for recommending The Inn on the Mile and we see you in the summer.

Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $138 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing