We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff,lovely little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on the Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff,lovely little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a brief overnight stay here in this boutique hotel.We stayed in room one which was light and airy with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was very modern,with a huge shower,bath and washbasin. The room was clean- a bit noisy but we were in the heart of the city and if you kept the windows closed it was quiet, The best part of the break were the staff-all young and friendly-they couldn't do enough for you.The hotel is in a great location too. Well done to everyone there-we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi angela l,

Thanks for this fantastic review! It’s great to read about your experience in our boutique, new hotel. I will be sure to read these great comments to our team. Next time you’re coming to Edinburgh please do let us know directly. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again. Thanks again and best wishes,

Craig Brodie
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    278
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
635
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed just the one night midweek. Service, while not quite seamless , was with a smile and good nature. Room very pleasant and beautifully decorated but you could here everyone coming out the pubs for allot of the night. Mini bar supplies and coffee great. Bathrooms look very swish but somewhat style over substance as shower not that strong, loo seat broken and sink taps a little odd - but they looked great.
Had a pleasant meal down stairs tasty and filling (but not haute cuisine ) , very good guy playing and singing but made conversation really hard as very loud in a confined space.
There is lots going for this hotel and they try really hard and I would like to have loved it as location great but ,for me, the noise did not allow for a good nights' sleep

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Woll,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review. It’s great to hear you received service with a smile from our team and you enjoyed your food while dining with us. Your comments regarding the points we can tweak to improve will certainly be brought up with our maintenance department as soon as possible. If you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know personally, I will endeavour to allocate you the most quite room possible for your stay. Again, thanks for the review and best wishes…

Craig Brodie
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived to the hotel like a couple of drowned rats from getting of the bus in the wrong place and getting caught in a rain storm. We were greeted by a friendly face offered a complimentary drink, we sat and chilled had some lunch and then we were shown to our room. It was lovely, you really can not fault the finish of the rooms or bathrooms. I thing it would of been nice to have a couple of comfy chairs as when we spent time chilling in our room you only have the bed to lay on (not a hardship I promise). Chris the assistant manager was amazing as was David, they looked after us really well. Even when we went for breakfast we asked for a certain channel on the telly and we accommodated straight away. The staff are a credit to the hotel. The location is amazing right on the Royal Mile couldn't be better. We loved Edinburgh and The Inn and we will certainly return again!! Thanks for making our time away so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Becky S,

Great to hear about your warm welcome at The Inn On The Mile after your rainy travels! It’s fantastic to hear you appreciated our new look bedrooms and service from our staff. You are both welcome back with us anytime. I will be sure to read your comments to all at our next team meeting. Best wishes,

Craig Brodie
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Inn on the Mile Edingburgh

Was not a nice experience at all . We paid £125.00 for one night which did not incluede breakfeast The tap broke in the bathroom sink at about 6.30pm the boiling water would not stop from the hot water tap and would not turn off 'the plumber did not turn up untill just before 10pm that evening in the meantime we had lots of staff from the hotel try to turn off the tap including the duty manager for that evening. It seemend a bit like wavely station the amount of people that were coming in and out of our room, after a day of travelling all we wanted to do was to sleep we found ourselves sitting on the edge of the bed until they all decided to leave we asked to move to a different room but was told that there were none availble The plumber did manage to put a bend in the pipework to stop the flow of boiling water but that left us with only cold water in the sink.

We were told that because of the inconvenience that we would be given a free night stay with them with breakfeast but we are still waiting to have conformation this was promised to us on the following morning We have left a number of emails to them they have still not confirmend the free night

This was promised to us by the manager on the morning of departure 2 weeks ago

We were told that the Comformation booking would be waiting for us on our return home that was two weeks ago .



Would not recomend

Room Tip: Room Number 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Good morning Tracy J,

Many thanks for getting in touch. Please note this is never the level of service we look to provide at The Inn On The Mile and apologies for the late response. Please contact me directly Tracy at info@theinnonthemile.co.uk and mark the subject for my attention with your contact details.I will be in touch as soon as possible once received.

Thanks for your time Tracy, best wishes…

Craig Brodie
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
288 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

we were pasing and noticed the door was different and decided to go in for a look- couldn't believe the transformation in here it's great now ,we had a drink and were served by the lovely polite young girl-- who is not yet bar trained but will no doubt be an asset when she is! seating is very comfy and the bar area is very tastefully laid out and even nicer at night when it's lit up.
we did not need to eat there but will make a point of that next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi JaniceHome,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review on our new Inn On The Mile. It’s great to hear you liked our transformation and the service provided. I will be sure to pass these comments along. Come visit us again soon Janice.

Thanks for your time,

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently ate at the newly refurbished restaurant and were not overly impressed with the service or standard of food. We were supposed to go in August for a birthday celebration but when we arrived at the restaurant they had no record of our booking, a suspected gas leak and with no apology we were sent off to eat elsewhere - not easy to find a last minute table in Edinburgh city centre during the festival! Despite all this we returned and this time when we arrived they once again could not find our booking! They were able to give us a table as they were not very busy. Our waitress was friendly but it took a long time for anyone to take a drinks order and a really long time for our drinks to be taken to our table. The food was alright but nothing particularly spectacular, average at best! Looking around there were lots of tourists who were struggling to get served that I felt like taking an order for them and taking it up to the bar! Perhaps this place will be worth a visit once again once the staff are up to speed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AMC21522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi MrsC215,

Firstly, apologies for the level of service that was provided during your visit, especially on such a special occasion. This is never a standard we ever want to portray to our guests but with a suspected gas leak in the area we had to put safety first. On this note please get in touch with me directly at info@theinnonthemile.co.uk to discuss further.

Thanks for your time, I look forward hopefully hearing from you soon.

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had been to The Bank Hotel before but didn't rate it too much. We then tried it under it's new name 'The Inn on the Mile' and we love the décor and ambience. A special mention goes to Stevie Scott who is an amazing singer - stayed all night to listen to him!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelled1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi WellTravelled1974,

Thanks for this great review! It’s our pleasure to have you as our guest, come visit us again soon. I will make sure Stevie Scott hears about your mention. Thanks for your time…

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Property: The Inn on the Mile
Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing