We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a drink and food great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely city centre pub beer spot on and food good to breakfast also nice. Inside set out is spot on and all staff are top class. Location is right on the royal mile could not be better. The menu has lots if choice and the prices are very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our new menu. Our food is freshly prepared on the premises, With a great variety of dishes, this menu has proved very popular and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
There are newer reviews for The Inn on the Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for just one night but booked it because it had a bar which looked good on the photos. The rooms have just been decorated and are very mordern and excellent. The bed was amazingly huge. They are currently decorating the hallway so it was a bit messy but didnt bother me at all. Pub downstairs was good and staff friendly.
Overall I am returning to Edinburgh in Jan and will be booking here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about our newly refurbished rooms. It's also good to here you enjoyed our public bar and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here just this week and was honestly surprised. The bedrooms are very fresh and modern, not what I expected when checking in. The location of this small hotel is really amazing, with great value for money and friendly staff. In all a great experience was had, this hotel really is one to look out for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAdam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear we exceeded your expections with the standard of the new rooms. Many guest's have been 'surprised' by the difference, especially enjoying the ultra modern facilities. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel just competed a full refurbishment they are just finishing stairway but this did not effect us at all. The bedroom was very impressive, we booked the royal mile room so had a massive room(bigger than my bedroom at home) It was great being in the centre of Edinburgh & being able to wander to sites without being far from the hotel. If staying in Edinburgh give this hotel a try!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you were impressed by the standard of our new rooms. The Royal Mile certainly is the place to be in Edinburgh. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Had a couple of drinks here and it was a very nice place to relax and enjoy the atnosphere.
Would definately reccommend and they serve their fish and chips in news paper - fantastic :o)
The coffee is nice, have been able to sit outside and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alipscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere. We have recently launched a new menu, you'll be glad to hear our famous fish and chips is still available, as well as some fantastic new dishes. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. There was refurbishing works going on at the stairs to rooms, but this was not an issue. Room was excellent, brilliant view of the city. A little noisy at night but this was due to the city centre location. Comfy bed and lovely bathroom, although the water pressure for the bath was a little feeble, otherwise brilliant shower etc!
Our milk was a little past it's best (I'm sure there would have been no problem changing this but we were only here for 1night and went to use milk just before check out). Would definitely stay here again, would be even better once the refurbishment is complete!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sum31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank for taking the time to review the Bank Hotel.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our new look bedrooms,
The feedback we have received has been overwhelmingly positive and to make the experience even better, we have now taken the decision to give our Pub and Kitchen the same treatment which will open at the end of June 2013.
Come back and visit our new look hotel next time you are in Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We ate here for lunch as a second choice by accident as our first choice restaurant had to close suddenly and all the customers were asked to leave. So when we found this place we were so relieved we were able to find a table available in the heart where all the fringe actives were going on, and what a stroke of luck it turned out to be.This was a lovely place to eat, full of old character, and charm and great for a quick spot of lunch. Although the street was very busy and noisy due to the fringe, we actually sat upstairs in a mezzanine area and found it was very quiet. The staff or rather the same one guy, made sure we never had to wait and was very tentative to our needs. Great service and great food. The soup was delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgian_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank for taking the time to review the Bank Hotel.
We are now giving our Pub and Kitchen a full refurbishment which will open at the end of June 2013. Exciting times!
Come back and visit our new look Pub next time you are in Edinburgh having lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $134 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing