We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Bank one night and then came back 5 days later and stayed one night. The first night we stayed in the Alexander Graham Bell room . It was decorated very nice and was very clean. The second time we stayed we were on the 3rd floor and the headboard was falling off the bed, the toilet was clogged, the top of the lamp on the night stand was wrapped with packing tape and falling off the bottom of the lamp and later we found a dirty towel hanging on the back of the door in the bathroom. I don't believe the room had been cleaned. There is a lot of outside noise on the street. It had a great location on the Royal Mile. The bar downstairs is where people go on Friday and Saturday night, very busy. Dinner was excellent and so were the drinks.When we booked we were told a Scottish breakfast was included, but when we checked in they told us they qiut doing it. The staff is so nice, friendly and helpful. I have mixed feelings, probably would not go back after staying in the dirty room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalucy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bank H, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Bank Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed you stay in the Alexander Graham Bell room, however we are disappointed that your second stay was not as consistent as your first visit.
We are constantly stiriving to improve our services to you, and we would like to apologise for the inconvience this may have caused you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and hope that you will find the issues resolved.
If you have any further comments or feedback we would appreciate your thoughts.
Our email is bankhotel@g1group.com

Thank you,

The Bank Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    292
    58
    14
    10
See reviews for
103
671
47
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel is in much need of re-decoration, in areas it is dirty, however our room was not too bad. The worst thing though is the noise which goes on till about 4am. Would love to visit edinburgh again, it is a beautiful city, but will avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank fultonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bank H, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

We would like to apologise that your stay with us was disappointing and may have hindered your enjoyment of Edinburgh as a capital city.

We have taken all your thoughts and comments on board as we are always striving to provide a better guest experience. If you have any further comments or suggestions we would be happy to hear from you.

Our email is bankhotel@g1group.com

Thank you for your time, kind regards,

The Bank Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel runs a scam. You make a reservation, they charge a fee, then they lie that they haven't charged you, tell you that they have no room, and offer another hotel, which is so far that they can't even show it on the map of the city. Then you learn about the fee from the credit card report. AVOID THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kydmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bank H, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We sincerley apologise for your experience at the Bank Hotel.

This is an unusual predicament and we can not be more disappointed that this is the service you recieved. Thank you for all your comments, and we can ensure that this will not happen again in future. We can only apologise for your stressful visit.

We would appreciate any further feedback you may have, our contact email is bankhotel@g1group.com

Thank you for time, and sorry again,

The Bank Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I don't splash out on upscale places very often, but I really enjoy them when I do. The James Young Simpson room at the Bank Hotel really felt like I'd made the mark. I'm still remembering the deep bath tub and the exquisitely comfortable bed. The aubergine walls made the place feel peaceful and opulent, while the staff made me feel welcome and put me at ease. I'd happily return to this hotel and stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bank H, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back in the future to enjoy all the luxuries of the James Young Simpson room!

We hope to see you again soon,

Kindest Regards,

The Bank Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Hi all, I stay there for 2 nights.
The groundfloor is a nice Pub with live music.
The 3 other floor are bettrooms.
I was on the 3 th floor and didn't hear any noise from the music. In my executive room, 3 beds, big bathroom, was good, but the bin from the bathroom wasn' t empty....the bathrooms floor wasn't clean, and the toilet flush didn't work...
But the location is optimal!!! ( at least )

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank for taking the time to review the Bank Hotel.
Big changes have been taking place at hotel which has seen the completion of our bedroom refurbishment. The feedback we have received has been overwhelmingly positive and to make the experience even better, we have now taken the decision to give our Pub and Kitchen the same treatment which will open at the end of June 2013.
Come back and visit our new look hotel next time you are in Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
312 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Property: The Inn on the Mile
Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing