We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel
Ranked #61 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good central location, the hotel resembles a grand Georgian terraced house from the front and has a maze of floors and a new extension with a swimming pool and an open terrace with seating in between the old and new building. There was a pleasant, warm welcome and the room (Club Room) was well appointed, clean and tidy. Bathroom had all the amenities (toiletries - The White Company, fluffy soft towels). The bed was very comfortable; the pillow not so as it was foam filled rather than a goose or duck down. The bedroom was in the old part of the hotel looking out onto George Street. The staff were always pleasant and requests were dealt with in a professional and polite manner, all of the staff greeted you from reception to cleaners. Breakfast was in a lovely room with wide choice of options with a good choice from the buffet and cooked to order items, the service was excellent. We cannot fault our stay and will stay here again.
If you like architecture look out for the original spiral staircase and outside facade with columns and sash windows.

Room Tip: Maybe if you are sensitive to a little noise during the night ask for a room facing inwards and NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear B C,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe following your stay with us. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you will be returning next time you are in Edinburgh. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    692
    244
    83
    54
See reviews for
308
1,017
67
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel made our stay in edinburgh staff could not be more helpful, got upgraded to club lounge, room was perfect,
We booked the day spa separately, the treatments were great, pleasant staff, only thing would say is pool area is only area of hotel that could do with little upgrading, would def go back to this amazing city and def only stay here, thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear asiacouple,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel following you stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and had the opportunity to use our leisure and spa facilities. We are continually looking at how we can upgrade, enhance and refurbish all areas of the hotel and the Spa and Leisure facilities are high on our list for project work. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future should you be visiting Edinburgh again.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed my brief stay here, nice central location, a pleasant warm welcome and a comfortable night. Lift out of order so had a trek up several flights of stairs which led to a to functional, well appointed, clean and tidy room.

Bathroom had all the amenities required and slept well in the comfortable bed. Breakfast was in a lovely room with wide choice of options, the fellow on duty as the greeter seemed slightly irascible but in fairness I entered at a what seemed a busy time, nevertheless no real complaints - the service was good and the food was excellent.

Will return when next requiring an overnight stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mid-AtlanticRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mid-AtlanticRidge,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed a good nights sleep. I do apologies for the elevator being out of service during you visit, thankfully this is an issue we don't experience too often. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future,

Warm wishes and kind regards,

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a wonderful few days here, the hotel resembles a terraced house from the front and has a maze of floors and a new extension with a swimming pool and an open terrace with seating in between the old and new building. Check the prices for a Club Suite as well as Standard Room as you have the use of a wonderful Club Room, free tea and coffee and breakfast. This room was light and airy and ideal to work in. The bedroom was in the old part of the hotel and was quirky although everything provided for a comfortable stay. The staff were always pleasant and requests were dealt with in a professional and polite manner, everyone friendly and all staff greeted you from reception to cleaners. Cannot fault our stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Check price for Club Suite against standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widowsinwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear widowsinwhite,

Thanks you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found our Club Lounge to be so good and suitable for your needs. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back once again tot he hotel in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

As a regular (monthly) business visitor to Edinburgh, I tried this as an alternative to my usual haunt, the Apex at Waterloo Place. Check in was ok - I was recognised as an IHG Platinum member, but was given no information about any upgrade, lounge or breakfast information. My room (100) was very nice and a good size in the old section of the building, looking out onto George Street. Very nice bathroom, with a lovely full size bath as well as a shower cubicle. The bed was really comfortable, but given the single glazing, noise from the street outside was more than I like - I would not want this room on a weekend night!

Breakfast was great - professional attentive staff and a good choice of buffet and cooked to order items.

Another service niggle was when I agreed a check out extension with the front desk, but on the stroke of noon, despite the 'do not disturb' sign, a staff member knocked on the door and asked me if I was checking out now!

To sum up, a lovely building in a fine location, excellent breakfast but needs to sharpen up its customer service a little. I'm back in the Apex next time....

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jchm,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the majority of your stay but would love the opportunity to discuss in more detail the areas in which we fell short of your expectations. Please contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com and I will be delighted to listen to your feedback in full and respond directly.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denny stirlingshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

spa day with friend including afternoon tea.we started the day with coffee and a hot croissons and pastries followed by our spa treatments we had full body massages with facials both treatments were excellent as were the facilities, afternoon tea with prosecco was served in the club lounge service and food were great what a great day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear liz s,

Thank for your review of the Roxburghe following you spa day with us here. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your day so much and indulged in one of our afternoon teas along with your treatments. I hope we can welcome you back again soon and perhaps next time also look after you for a nights stay to continue your relaxing day.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is absolutely great right next to Princess Street and with all major attractions more or less within walking distance.

Our room was very clean, seemed bigger than a normal hotel room and had a big bathroom – it was all very nice.

The hotel spa area was OK, but seemed rather old and outdated. Overall enjoyed the place and would come back if ever in Edinburgh again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rathkjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Rathkjen,

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh so much and that we proved to be a good location for your trip. We are currently looking at plans for continued investment and enhancements of our services here at the hotel and our leisure and spa facilities are just one of the projects we are currently working on. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel should you be visiting Edinburgh again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,128 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,488 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. The Spa and pool close from the 13th of August then the gym will close from the 3rd of September. When the club reopens we will have a refurbished poolside, complete with new Sauna, Steam Room and Experience Shower. The changing rooms will have been completely refurbished, and the Gym will include new equipment and have been given a smart new look with increased relax space and new couples/ twin treatment room. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing