We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on New Years Eve. The hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly. We arrived a few hours early but this was no problem, we were allowed access to the room anyway. We were upgraded rooms which was nice too! The room had a 4 poster bed and spa bath which was very nice!

Breakfast was also very good, there was lots of choice.

The hotel is in a good location, you could walk into town on one straight the road or catch the bus from the opposite side of the road.

I would definitely stay again, overall a very pleasant visit. Edinburgh itself is also fantastic and I would recommend visiting the zoo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    141
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
311
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained period hotel. Lovely decor. However, 2nd night the heating failed, early evening, in Edinburgh, minus 2 outside, snowing. They had no heaters to distribute and offered a second duvet, oh and a free drink in the bar. We wanted to relax after a long cold day in the city. On check out we were offered a £25 discount, and after complaining, this was increased to £50. All equipment can break down, but for a commercial establishment not to have a service contract, for an old property is unacceptable. Worst, the staff on duty had to translate and enact the owner's wishes as they were not on site and obviously didn't think that this sort of breakdown warranted their attention. The staff were fantastic, for the whole stay, polite and attentive and very apologetic over the breakdown. Special mention for the shower, 4 stars means a great shower, not an electric one which struggles to put out sufficient volume at temperature, a good shower is essential and this one wasn't

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you found that the hotel is a well maintained period hotel and has lovely decor, and that you found the staff fantastic. We are well known for our friendly and welcoming attitude towards all our guests.

One of our boilers had broken down on Saturday evening. This only affected some bedrooms and not the public and reception area which was still warm and comfortable. The staff were not aware of the problem until advised by a returning guest.

We do have a contracted engineer who we contacted. We were advised that a part was required to repair the boiler and this could not be ordered until Monday morning. As you stated unfortunately it is not something that you can not foresee. Unfortunately I was out of town for the weekend but was in constant contact by phone. Otherwise I would have been straight over. We do have spare heaters but these had all been distributed so we apologize for this. Unfortunately at that time of night all the shops were closed so we were unable to purchase additional heaters.

The heating only affected some rooms as we have two boilers we are glad to report our Victorian lounge with open fire was warm and comfortable and hope you spend part of the evening relaxing in front of the open fire with the complimentary drinks you were offered.
We have not had any complaints about this shower before but since you have alerted us about this problem we have had someone out to look at the pressure and the temperature of the shower, it was all found to be in working order. The broken down boiler has also been repaired.

We do hope that you enjoyed everything that Edinburgh has to offer.

My sincere apologises

Maggie Urquhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel for three nights between 14th and 17th February. We arrived mid-afternoon after a long drive, and the staff couldn't be more welcoming. We were offered the cosy living room area to wait in while they finalised our booking, and then received the good news that we had been upgraded to the four-poster room. The room was beautiful - modern yet traditional, with a lovely touch in complimentary whiskey and shortbread. We also had extra chocolates on our pillows because it was Valentines Day - all the little gestures make a big difference. There were tea and coffee making facilities as well as a TV, and iPod deck.

Our tea and coffee, and the whiskey and shortbread were replaced every day, and our towels changed too.

The breakfasts were lovely - there was a huge variety of cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fruit and yoghurt, and also hot options such as a classic Scottish breakfast and porridge. I trialled most of it and it was all very tasty.

The location of the hotel is nearing on perfect. It is walkable distance into town if you are a keen stroller (takes about 25-30mins) but if not, it is on a main bus route. There are a number of buses you can get in and out of the city, and we never waited more than 5mins. The distance from the city meant that it was still quiet despite being so close to a huge city.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and answered any questions we had - they have good tips on where to go and when, and told us exactly which buses to get to go where we wanted. They also allowed us to leave our car in the hotel car park until late afternoon, after we had checked out.

Since we have returned, the staff have continued their excellent service as well - I inadvertantly left a t-shirt behind in our room. On calling the hotel, they had located it and were more than happy to post it to my home address. My t-shirt is lost no more!

Tips on what to do in Edinburgh:
Arthur's Seat makes a cracking walk on a nice day. It's quite strenuous but the view from the top is unbeatable.
The ghost tours on the Royal Mile were good fun, and also quite insightful and educational. We used a company called Auld Reekie.
The Britannia - we weren't going to bother heading to the port to see HMY Britannia, but it was interesting and worth the trip.

I would **DEFINITELY** recommend this hotel to anybody looking to head to Edinburgh for a city break, and would stay there again if I ever return.

Well done Kildonan Lodge - you deserve every one of the four stars you have got, plus another!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. All of us really appreciate the lovely things you have said.

It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Edinburgh. It is a great city to visit and has lots to see and do.

We do hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind regards,
Chrystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked out most rooms of this boutique hotel for a weekend birthday party group and danced away a couple of nights until three. Cosy drawing room with flame fire and 24 hour bar service, masqueraded by the snowy lawns outside. Banqueting service used in the hotel restaurant, complimented the experience. Definitely my hotel of choice in Edinburgh, after years of trying all the well known brands. Wonderful full Scottish breakfast, should impress you. Close to bus service into the City and Waverley Railway Station. Good bars and restaurants 30 minutes walk, one & half miles away; or a good taxi service available. Take a train ride over the Forth Bridge alongside the Fife coast, if you have a sunny afternoon spare, or visit the Panda's at the zoo.

Room Tip: Try the Annex if you prefer very quiet enviroment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, tastefully and sympathetically decorated, very clean with friendly and helpful staff. Also has the advantage in Edinburgh of having a good size car park and being an easy short bus ride or taxi journey to the city centre. We stayed in one of the Executive King rooms and the bed was huge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked the 4 Poster Bed Double Room for a weekend away with the S.O. and was very impressed with the overall quality and level of service here. The room was immaculate and well furnished, with many additional amenities such as DVD player, iron and complimentary sherry and short bread! The jacuzzi bath was fantastic as well, with the bathroom overall being very spacious and well cleaned. Breakfast was great, fresh Full English breakfast as well as a buffet with the usual juices and nibbles. We stayed in the hotel for food the first night as well, and the quality was very good; I'd definitely recommend the Rib-eye steak, it's very reasonably priced and excellently prepared.

As for location, couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. Across the road is a bus stop that has services into both the Haymarket, Waverly station and the Zoo, though the new tram line makes for quite a long travel time to the zoo. You can get a day ticket for £3.50 that covers you on all Lothian bus services, which are the majority of services to and from the hotel. It's around £8 to get a taxi into town or to the station, and the hotel will gladly ring you a taxi and are very prompt to arrive.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel for those looking for a convenient, luxury trip away! The value for money is great, but may be a little expensive for most, though I'd argue worth every penny! The S.O. loved it, so all in all money well spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are all really pleased that you were impressed with the quality and level of service and that you thought that your room was immaculate.
All our rooms do come with the same amenities and especially in the winter months we do find that the complimentary sherry and shortbread go down a treat to warm guests up after sightseeing.
We are on a main bus route so it is easy getting in to the city centre with several buses that go to the city centre from right across from the Kildonan.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again! Kind regards
All of us at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a wonderful find this hotel was - serendipity!
We had an awful journey to Edinburgh which should of taken 4-5 hrs max but ended up being 7, we were tired and stressed but this all vanished when we walked through the doors of this wee gem of a hotel.
A warm fire awaited us in the lounge and when we were shown to our bedroom WOW!! We had booked the Blackwatch room with its enormous 6ft wide 4 posterbed, This room is so spacious with its ornate high ceiling and marble fireplace. Breakfast the following morning was a choice from the menu as well as the buffet of cheeses, fruit salad, yogurts, cooked meats and pastries not forgetting fruit juices and as much tea or coffee as you like. We ate at the hotel on Saturday evening and had a fantastic meal, the ribeye steak was the best we had ever had. Sean who served us was a wonderful host and very friendly. The honesty bar is very good value with ample choice. With free parking and its close proximity to the city centre this is a perfect choice of hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skye1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing