We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, AMAZING breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, AMAZING breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

All the staff at the Brooks Hotel were incredibly welcoming, and gave great recommendations for things to see and do in Edinburgh. The room was also clean and comfortable. The only thing we wished we had in our room was air conditioning as it was around 80 degrees Fahrenheit our first night there and a little too warm to sleep well! However, the most incredible part of our stay was breakfast in the morning. There was a large array of pastries, cereals, fruits and juices, as well as made to order meals included in the breakfast price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathoner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    394
    145
    42
    18
See reviews for
134
568
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We found ourselves at Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh after our European leg and I just need to say first and foremost, the breakfasts, as previously mentioned, are fantastic...I was heartily over sweet pastries at breakfast time, so to have Eggs Benedict was blissful, along with all the other wonderful stuff of course.
But now the room- we had room 307 and had absolutely no problems with it. The bed was a king and absolutely wonderful, pillows and linen great. Yes the room was very compact but this is not uncommon anywhere. We had a window that opened and was needed with no air-con and warmer days! However even though we looked over a courtyard there was still noise from roads around. The partner being a deep sleeper dropped off easily whilst I used a pair of soft form earplugs to get me there. Not a problem. Quiet later at night until early morning.

The staff were all great to deal with, very welcoming and accommodating. I received immediate replies to all of my queries prior to getting there. Thanks Emmanuelo! This hotel is close to all of the main sights, has an ATM directly across the road, Tesco's just around the corner, a fantastic coffee shop and Malaysian restaurant nearby. Hay Market Station is very close, this is where we caught the Air Link bus to, from the airport, for £4 pounds each.

Enjoyed staying here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TrialRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is close to the center of Edinburgh in a not so thrilling street. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a nice lounge with an 'honesty' bar (you take a drink and write it down in a book). You can walk downtown from the hotel and also to e.g. train or tram station.
The rooms are fine and clean and there is free Internet.
BTW: There is a very good but simple Vietnamese restaurant at the end of the street!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Winkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed for one night and would recommend anyone visiting Edinburgh to stay here too. We were greeted with a friendly welcome, loved the room and the breakfast was amazing! All staff were helpful and accommodating. It was no problem to leave our luggage with them for the day after we checked out as our flight was not until the evening. It was about a 15 minute walk to the castle, it felt very well located. I made the booking for a special occasion and spent a long time reading through many different reviews before finding this hotel. For us it was perfect! Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We could hear road noise at night but with windows closed was not a problem. If this would bother y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74clm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Brooks Hotel was, by far, the nicest, most comfortable, and most reasonable place my daughters and I stayed during our recent trip to the U. K. and France. Both the lobby and our rooms were spacious, well-decorated, and impeccably clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location, on a fairly quiet side street, was within easy walking distance to the center of the Old Town. We did not choose the breakfast option here, so I can't speak to that. The building had some Scottish charm, but the amenities (lots of hot water, etc.) were such that any American traveler should find more than adequate. I have not hesitated to recommend Brooks to several friends who are planning trips to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a great hotel! Very good value - we had the compact room, which was fine as we were travelling light - well designed room, comfy bed, stylish and quiet. Rate was excellent, breakfast the best we had in Scotland (and Scot's are good at brekky!) - good location in Edinburgh - walk to old town or new town (10-15 minutes) - lovely cafe around the corner (Loudons on fountainbridge); great lounge area with honesty bar. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

On our recent visit to Scotland we spent 2 days in Edinburgh. We chose the Brooks Hotel for its reasonable price and location. City buses are just around the corner and it's just a short walk to Haymarket train station. The hotel itself is a wee gem to say the least. The staff are friendly, the breakfast great and the room had everything we needed after a tiring day of site seeing. Definitely recommend the Brooks if you're visiting Edinburgh!

Room Tip: We had a room with a great king size comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_and_Alison2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing