We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here in April with our 13 year old son in a family en-suite room. The beds were lovely and comfy and the bathroom,very clean and stylish.All the staff were welcoming,especially the girls at breakfast which was immense. Cereals,fruit,yogurts or hot dishes including eggs florentine.There was a specials board and yummy homemade muffins and cakes.Excellent value and not to be missed.There is an unmanned honesty bar stocked with wine,spirits,snacks and lots of whiskys!The hotel itself is a 5 minute walk from Haymarket station and only another 10 minute walk in the other direction to the city centre.There are many bars,restaurants,shops and cinemas in the area.We were really glad to have chosen Brooks Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    387
    140
    39
    17
See reviews for
131
550
38
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall a great Hotel, great service and kind people, nice (but little) room, good location near the city center, near a big supermarket if you need to buy some water or anything else, nice little 'self-service' bar, and most definitely THE BEST BREAKFAST we had in our trip around Scotland!!!! (the only thing I missed, was fresh Orange juice...)
Only the beds are not that big, but we had this issue in almost all the next hotels we visited throughout Scotland during our trip...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georges M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel just before Easter and could not fault it. The room was nicely decorated and the bed very comfy indeed(Stayed in a superior room). The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is situated within 15 minute stroll of Princes st /Castle and less than 10 minutes from Haymarket station.
The breakfast was the highlight of the whole stay so much so that we spent time deciding what to have in advance so that we could sample as much as possible of the menu! We stayed on a B 7 B basis but at £7 for breakfast it is a no brainer as it is tremendous value!
One tip for travellers is to check the hotel website for offers as there are genuine bargains to be had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I have just had a one nigt stay at this hotel. We were warmly welcomed by all the staff. The decor througout was a lovely mix of old and new, the residents lounge is very ellegant and comfortable with dashes of original antiques. The room was nicely decorated and the beds super comfy, I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow and had a great nights sleep! Delicious breakfast with good choice of Chef's specials. Great value for money, great location near to station, parking available, friendly staff, would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Brooks hotel in Edinburgh on 22nd April for 2 nights.
The hotel is a good budget priced choice - located within an easy walk of the city centre, restaurants and attractions including the castle.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel, including our room was clean and well presented.
One downside for us was the bed - we booked for 3 adults and received a queen bed and a folding 3 piece bed for the third person – which they found pretty uncomfortable. We found the queen bed a bit on the hard side too.
The free WIFI did not work on our floor level the first night we were there, so our only way of accessing it that evening was to sit in the hotel lobby. Luckily they fixed it the next day and then we could use it in our room.
The hotel provides free parking for its guests, only downside is it is situated in the next street, a bit of a walk with your luggage, unless you can double park out the front to load. Also, the hotel, only has 4 spots allocated so probably a good idea if you reserve a spot ahead of arrival.

Room Tip: Reserve a car spot as they are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigruss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My two children and I recently stayed at Brooks for four nights in a triple room. The room was wonderful! the décor was chic and had the most comfy hotel beds I have slept on! The third bed was a fold out one but we knew this prior to our stay, and it was as comfy as the other two beds! The shower was excellent too. The cleanliness of the hotel and especially the room was excellent, a real credit to the housekeeping staff, who where also very friendly. The reception team where friendly, professional and very helpful, and always had time to chat to my two very lively children! The location of the hotel was great with a bus stop to the city centre, holyrood and ocean terminal just round the corner,[ as was a Tesco metro store]. We also visited the zoo and caught the bus at haymarket which was only a five minute walk from the hotel too. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked my reservation at the Brooks Hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews and wanted to add my comments after spending a delightful 4 days there this month. The hotel is situated conveniently near the Haymarket Train Station and Princess Street. I was able to walk everywhere in town including Grass Market, Old Town, several of the major museums and the central tourism office. The proximity to all of the key spots as well as wonderful restaurants can't be beat.

In terms of the hotel itself, it was a marvelous blend of historic and yet modern and efficient. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and eager to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. The room was comfortable in size and included modern amenities such as a flat screen TV, a modern shower and even a towel warmer! Another feature that was impressive were the common rooms on the ground floor. There was a dining room for breakfast but also space to read, mingle and enjoy the nice weather outdoors during the warmer months. Everything was really clean, elegant and tasteful, which was perfect since many travellers want the European charm without the velvet curtains and doilies. They really hit the mark when it comes to comfort and charm.

I would therefore wholeheartedly recommend the Brooks Hotel and would certainly stay there again if I have the opportunity to visit Scotland in the future. The price was certainly reasonable considering its location and the quality of the room and services provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is lovely to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us so much.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing