We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Mix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #89 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Mix”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked my reservation at the Brooks Hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews and wanted to add my comments after spending a delightful 4 days there this month. The hotel is situated conveniently near the Haymarket Train Station and Princess Street. I was able to walk everywhere in town including Grass Market, Old Town, several of the major museums and the central tourism office. The proximity to all of the key spots as well as wonderful restaurants can't be beat.

In terms of the hotel itself, it was a marvelous blend of historic and yet modern and efficient. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and eager to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. The room was comfortable in size and included modern amenities such as a flat screen TV, a modern shower and even a towel warmer! Another feature that was impressive were the common rooms on the ground floor. There was a dining room for breakfast but also space to read, mingle and enjoy the nice weather outdoors during the warmer months. Everything was really clean, elegant and tasteful, which was perfect since many travellers want the European charm without the velvet curtains and doilies. They really hit the mark when it comes to comfort and charm.

I would therefore wholeheartedly recommend the Brooks Hotel and would certainly stay there again if I have the opportunity to visit Scotland in the future. The price was certainly reasonable considering its location and the quality of the room and services provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is lovely to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us so much.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    430
    163
    46
    18
See reviews for
146
611
44
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We wanted something a little different for our one-night stay in Edinburgh. The Brooks is lovely. The staff are personable and attentive; the rooms are clean and comfortable; our bathroom was new and the shower was excellent! We really enjoyed the honesty bar and the courtyard (especially as it was a suntrap!)
We had the full Scottish breakfast, which was also lovely. We missed the toast, baked beans, and hash browns of a full English, but that's just our preference! There was certainly no reason to go hungry, and the banana compote was beautiful!
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: It's worth getting the king-size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were lucky enough to experience our courtyard in full sunshine, it is a lovely little sun trap!
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very nice decor. Nice leather couches in the living area and a well stocked 'honesty' bar. Good location for exploring, although about 15 minutes walk from Princes street.

Good clean rooms, with comfortable beds, a bit on the small side as you would expect in an inner city hotel.

Breakfast was excellent. Full Scottish, delicious and good choice of continental, home made muffins, fruit pots. Friendly service at front desk and in restaurant area. Parking £12 extra a day across the road in a secure building. Would stay here again.

Thank you for a pleasant stay - our daughter enjoyed the Easter egg hunt!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnash33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. It was lovely to hear that your daughter enjoyed our little Easter Egg Hunt, we had great fun hiding all of the chocolate!
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

So comfortable, so welcoming, so friendly, and so well located. I couldn't ask for more!
It's in the west end of Edinburgh and very close to all the best bits. I had a very good experience from the staff and really loved my stay here. I will definitely return and would recommend the Brooks to anyone looking for a good value, friendly and comfortable stay in Scotland's capital

Room Tip: I've stayed in 3, and all were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menno s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Brooks Edinburgh, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here with my friend for a couple of nights, bit of sight seeing, general tourist stuff but felt that I never really needed to leave the hotel, not really.

The welcome was perfect, big smile for the Receptionist David (later discovered he was the Assistant Hotel Manager, no surprise there from his level of service). Breakfast great, sure the Chef brought it to our table and rooms really good.

We were really made to feel apart of the little Brooks Family and will definitely be back, thank you all and to David and his team.

Room Tip: Back Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that David in particular, along with the rest of the team made you feel so comfortable and welcome. We pride ourselves on our customer service skills and it is great to hear that this is being portrayed to our guests so strongly.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at Brooks for one night and from the minute I arrived until I left I felt very welcome. Lovely comfy bed -even better than my own at home! The breakfast cooked by Norbert the chef was what you would expect from a top notch restaurant! Will definately be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karensa273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review on us, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your wonderful comments onto Norbert who was absolutely delighted with a personal mention on Trip Advisor, he does work very hard to ensure his breakfasts are top notch!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brooks Edinburgh, Bath or Bristol in the not too distant future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We wanted a hotel in the centre of Edinburgh which was in a quiet location and this ticked the boxes!! Only a 15 min stroll to Princes St or Grassmarket, a 15 min bus ride to Waverley Station or a 10 min stroll to Haymarket Station. Yet, the hotel is in a peaceful street and we had a lovely undisturbed sleep. The staff were welcoming, the rooms smart and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had recently been re-fitted and had a good shower. Overall, a very positive stay and will certainly book again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richy1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be so peaceful, this is one of the bonuses of not being right in the middle of the city centre amongst the major traffic and other street noise, I am happy to hear that you found this to be the case too.
I do hope that we will see you again very soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,184 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
823 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing