We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #90 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
SOlihull
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place, personal service”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night. We arrived and found there had been a bit of communication breakdown and we had a twin room. It was no problem and they immediately gave us a kingsize room. Mark, who was on reception was really friendly and knew Edinburgh really well. We asked advice of where to eat and drink and later he produced a map on which he had marked his recommendations. We went out and there were umbrellas for us to use as it was raining.

The room itself was nice. The bathroom looked quite new and the room had all the facilities needed- tea/coffee/biscuits, hair dryer, tv etc.

There was free wi-if available in the lounge and reception (not in bedrooms), just needed a code from reception.

The breakfast was really good. The choice was immense on the cooked breakfast front with every egg option possible-poached, scrambled, fried, and served any which way. full Scottish breakkie was available and it was all made to order. There was homemade fruit compote and homemade muffins, homemade Jams and preserves and cake. There was a bowl of fruit (not fruit salad) oranges, bananas, apples, plums etc. So everything you could want in a breakfast.

We walked everywhere whilst in Edinburgh and from hay market station it took about 7/8 mins and then about 15 mins up to Princess street, so very conveniently locates, and the road was quiet so no traffic noise or pub/club noise to contend with.

I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are all very friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    405
    152
    44
    18
See reviews for
135
583
41
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little further away from the royal mile/castle than advertised but the walk is pleasant and there are plenty of cafes/shops to nip to for essentials nearby.
That is my only negative. The room was small but nicely decorated facilities good and the comfiest bed and fluffiest towels I've had in a while. Honesty bar with roaring fire was lovely to come back to. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. The first think to say is that the staff were excellent, with a first class, friendly attitude. The hotel is small with no main bar but the was no problem as there was a honesty bar in the quiet lounge with a wonderful selection of single malts.
The room had everything you could wish for and although not the biggest, there was no feeling of bumping into my fellow guest.
Our late night return to the hotel was greeted with a smile and welcome from the night porter who again directed us to the "bar" for a nightcap.
Breakfast was great, I just asked for the full Scottish breakfast and the plate was piled high with what was a very filling meal to start the day. Don't skip breakfast would be my advice.
I would highly recommend this establishment and will visit again on my next trip to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Suggest contacting the hotel direct for bookings as they said they would offer a better deal that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to read. I am so glad that you found our staff so helpful and friendly and enjoyed your breakfast with us so much. Our goal is to provide the best possible service, a good breakfast and pleasant surroundings in which to stay so your review was a wonderful read! I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for three nights attending a conference at the EICC, which is just round the corner. Loved the breakfast, especially the homemade muffins and the rhubarb and berry compote. The bathroom looked brandnew and I agree with other reviewers on friendliness of staff, decor, availability of wi-fi. However, I thought it a bit far to walk into Edinburgh City Centre - about 20 minutes to Grassmarket. Worth mentioning perhaps is that the Edinburgh to Glasgow canal starts a few hundred yards from the hotel and is great for jogging along the towpath or walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst set a 15 minute walk from Princes Street and the Grassmarket, we are very central to the business district and the EICC as you point out, we do feel that our prices do reflect the short walk to the shopping areas and have a fantastic bus link across the entire city on our front doorstep. I am glad that you found all of our staff so friendly, we do pride ourselves on the service that we provide and it is great to hear that we are portraying ourselves in exactly the right way. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brooks again in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for three nights, with a group of friends, late September, and am trying to find an excuse to come back as soon as possible. I had a charmingly decorated, restful double room - small but well-equipped and with an excellent shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was included in the rate and was the best breakfast ever - so much choice and beautifully cooked to order; gorgeous light muffins, big pots of tea, and proper butter in little dishes - touches of real classiness. Friendly, efficient staff. So nice to be able to gather with friends in the big sitting room with its honesty bar. On the practical side - bus stop at the end of the road with buses to Princes Street, Leith, the Royal Mile, etc., cafe and restaurant within five-minute stroll, and Tesco Extra opposite the bus stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of us on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will see some of you, if not all of you again soon!
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in Edinburgh over the weekend here. Lovely clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very kind, friendly, and helpful. Its near Haymarket station and a quick walk into the City Center so either train will get you there. Short walk to Grassmarket for dinner and the rest of old town. Just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merticuflamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here since it seemed convenient to get in and out of the center of the city. We were more than pleasantly surprised by the outstanding service, breakfast and location Brooks had to offer. Breakfast was fantastic from the parfaits, homemade muffins, and hot entree items. Staff even helped prepare continental blast before it opened for the day when we had to leave early. The rooms were a good size with a great shower (stayed in the king room.) The bed was your standard european mattress however i was dissapointed there was not a king size mattress topper to combine the 2 twin beds, only a sheet covered the mattreses. When the weather was rainy or cold we took advantage of the bus many of which stopped a block away. Would recommend if you are looking for a quiet, cozy, friendly spot and on somewhat of a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e_dibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#89 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing