We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's just something about it I really like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights when attending a conference at nearby EICC. Ok the bathroom was small, my room had a view of an external staircase or the nearby student drying green but I loved this hotel. The decor was elegant and understated, the staff were universally friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent, and where these days do you find an honesty bar? The wi-if coverage was also excellent, which is really important to me, and it was lovely and quiet. I used three of recommendations from the places to eat/drink and they were all great and exactly as described. I've stayed in 5 hotels in the last 3 weeks and this was definitely my favourite.
Ok it's a good walk into town, but if you're at the EICC and you're fed up with big chains, I would definitely stay here and I would happily come back again.

Room Tip: I had two friend staying on the third floor and they really liked this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenMNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Brooks was overall a good experience. We arrived there late and they had someone at the reception ready with our room. the elevator was rather tiny, but that is generally expected of European hotels. The room was decent sized. we had a room with 2 beds. Will mention, the bathroom was tiny... even by European standards. was hard to turn around.

The hotel was about a 10 min walk from the castle, and grasslatern square... not a bad walk. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug6277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We walked to all the major locations from here - the castle and grassmarket within 20 minutes, but even back from Princes Street and Arthur's seat. We had (a very good) breakfast included but passed Bite Me! and Loudons every day which looked great and would be extremely near. Was easy to get to lots of nearby restaurants and Lyceum theatre, there was always a local place to grab a coffee to start all walks with, although the Fountainbridge end of the street felt the safest/busiest to walk along in the evenings.

Rooms were fine. Absolutely huge soft bed. Free Wi-fi. Anti-mist bathroom mirror worked great. Good size shower with non-slip tray. No view as such. Some road noise, but nothing to wake us up. All reception staff were particularly excellent, efficient and very friendly, greeting us on each entrance and exit.

Minor cons that could easily be addressed would be:
* the breakfast room capacity (needs change of layout to smaller tables to accommodate the larger amount of residents - in the end we had to share a table with 2 grumpy residents who resented the intrusion and spoilt our experience)
* the breakfast times seem to differ between reception, the room guide, and the menu
* the room guide includes 10 suggested eateries, 1 of which we found closed down, and the other we couldn't find as the location was later found to be completely different!
* and of course the main issue: no biscuit top-up - just 1 biscuit to cover three days! ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Close to castle and downtown, room is clean, bathroom is clean and all worked fine, towels were clean and fresh smelling, reception was very kind and accommodating. The servers and chef at the breakfast room were amazing, just 2 servers and all happened without a glitch, well cooked, clean plates, very tasty and prompt, very corteous ....GREAT VALUE! We would stay there anytime and most definitely next time we visit Edinburgh. If you a want quiet with room window open ask for the courtyard facing rooms. Great staff, ...must have a great manager..! Congratulations.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A warm welcome, a spacious room and a comfortable lounge with an honesty bar stocked with malt whiskies. Breakfast is great value for money with cooked to order food and home produce on the buffet. The main attractions of Edinburgh are within walking distance for the reasonably fit and so the hotel is a quality choice, at a good price, if you want relaxed comfortable surroundings, but not the conformity of the large faceless hotel chains.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and nice fluffy towels! Only complaint would be the noise from outside mainly on a Friday and Saturday night as rooms only had single glazing. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. There was also a specials board with porridge, French toast and eggs benedict as well as cereals, toast, fruit and homemade cakes on. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre but there are cafes/restaurants close by. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaD4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Seventeen of us, all ladies, stayed at Brooks for three nights last weekend and all I can say is that we have no complaints at all. All the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble; the bedrooms are kept clean and well stocked with lovely towels! Breakfast was fabulous with everything cooked to order - there is even a specials board which includes smoked salmon with scrambled egg and eggs Benedict, just like any five star. The chef cooked a Saturday night meal for us, which was delicious and for a group of 17, when dinner is not usually provided, this was excellent service. The hotel is conveniently located, about a 15 minute walk to the Castle and local bus stops to take you to the far end of the Royal Mile and also out the the Royal Yacht Britannia (well worth a visit also). As I said, nothing is too much trouble, we were even allowed to print our boarding passes for our flight home on Sunday. I would definitely stay at Brooks again and have no problem recommending it to you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsChris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,129 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
915 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,092 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $64 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing