We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being your earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed 21 July and will stay again but as its as near to city centre as you could wish I suggest ear plugs to ensure a decent nights sleep. Was woken at 2AM and 5AM by what I assume load, drunken locals in the street outside. The latter deciding to sing (shout) and bang bins. Other than that great price, very clean, staff very helpful and easy walk to city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, room was at front so noisy from traffic due to open windows to cope with hot weather. Room itself very comfortable, staff pleasant, nice lounge and sun terrace. Beds and bedding excellent quality, quaint style rooms. Had a lot of character, easy walk to princes street. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank jakmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and adult son and I recently stayed at the Brooks Hotel and loved it. It is on a quiet street tucked out of the way from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas which are easily accessible by busses that run frequently from nearby. Our mattresses and feather pillows were extremely comfortable with plush linens in rooms with nice decor and good bathrooms. But best of all were the gourmet breakfasts - the best of all the many hotels we stayed in on our month-long trip. We booked in advance so breakfast was included which made the whole stay great value. Bravo to the chef at the Brooks Hotel! They had home made plum compote and yogurt and fruit parfaits with home made granola, great coffee, and a menu of special hot cooked delights - well beyond the average British fare. The place is not fancy but feels like a boutique hotel in that everything was of the best quality and comfort. The staff were very friendly (although our son's room was missing a telephone and even though we mentioned it the first day it never materialized). We will definitely stay there again when next we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balinesemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my daughter after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor and can honestly say that the hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the twin room was spacious, breakfast choice and quality was superb- something for everyone and homemade. We also needed hyperallergenic pillows and duvets which were sorted straight away, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Once we got our bearings the city centre was only a 10 minute walk away and following a recommendation from Paul, who works in the hotel, we also ate at a lovely Vietnamese restaurant 2 mins walk from the hotel. Edinburgh is a fantastic city and what made it even better was the accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita_brereton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you can stay at a Brooks Guest house, not matter what city, do it!

We had stayed in their hotel in Bath and the Edinburgh hotel just opened this year. We knew we couldn't go wrong here.

The staff is super helpful and friendly. Their breakfasts (which are included) are the best we have ever had anywhere in the UK and Europe and the rooms at the Edinburgh hotel were nicely appointed.

We had a family room with four of us and we were very comfortable. Everything was new and nice.

Keep in mind, the bathrooms are small and the hallways narrow where the guest rooms are.

The hotel is next door to an awesome tea room - Delices de Mademoiselle - which is a great find and the guest house is within walking distance to the City Center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2013. Though its a small budget old style hotel, it was clean and well done up. The staff were courteous and good. As it was new room, the intercom was not working on the first day. Its a walkable distance from major attractions in Edinburgh. Its too has nice lounge area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onearth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They accommodated my need for non-feather pillows and duvet, sorted any problems which arose without hesitation and were very helpful in suggesting places to eat, how to reach parts of the city I wished to explore etc. Each day when I came back to the hotel, I was greeted with smiles and queries about how my day had gone.
The hotel is located within easy walking distance from the Haymarket train station which is one of the stops on the airport bus route. It's situated near the city centre without having the noise associated with being in the hub of Edinburgh.
The breakfasts were delicious with cooked options and a "specials" board. One reviewer has complained that there were no croissants. Since this isn't France, why should a guest expect these? Instead, the hotel has fresh homemade muffins, homemade granola and fruit compote as well as cereals, toast etc.
I stayed in a compact double. I would only recommend these for a single person as there isn't enough space for two - unless you are very close or want to risk falling out during your stay! The shower was in a cubicle - much nicer than one over a bath with a manky shower curtain.
There's a lovely lounge with an honesty bar. The prices of this are very reasonable eg: can of coke = £1. Having a comfortable lounge means that you don't have to stay in your room all the time. The staff light candles here as the evening draws in.
I would recommend the little Vietnamese restaurant at the end of Grove Street - just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imperium66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,092 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
609 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
883 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#133 of 151 in Edinburgh
158 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#136 of 151 in Edinburgh
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing