We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh ingredients = great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Howies Victoria

Howies Victoria
Ranked #166 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: A 600 year old room built from the very stone that Edinburgh Castle sits upon above. Remarkable atmosphere, intimate, informal, set prices in the heart of medieval Victoria Street. Just off The Grassmarket and The Royal Mile. 3 Minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle, The Scottish National Museum and open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Set price menus. Scottish seasonal food. Established 1991. Accept all cards and cash.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients = great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

A late lunch with friends on a Saturday afternoon and Howies on Victoria Street is a guaranteed destination for tasty food at a very good price. There's a 2 course set menu for under £10 and when we visited there was a promotion knocking £2 off even that. To make things even better it's BYO, with a £4 corkage.

The ingredients were fresh tasting and the food is prepared to a good standard. I had the seafood chowder followed by the shin of beef, which I thought was excellent (albeit the fries - which came free for some reason - were a occasionally a little undercooked). My wife had the onion soup (excellent) and the catch of the day, which was a seafood risotto with king prawns. Although the risotto was nice it was a little underwhelming and didn't really taste much in the way of seafood.

The service is friendly and although we were on the last sitting for lunch we were never rushed and it was only until 30 minutes before the evening sittings were due to start that the waiter offered us the bill.

Time and time again Howies provides good food at a very good price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelgfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    453
    128
    59
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't ask for Fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a lunch time meal with my family
Good Value, as only £7.95 for 2 course lunch.
Had the Cullen skink as starter (as did all family except wife who had artichoke salad) very good.
The pulled shin of beef on toasted Ciabatta was really tasty but the this as a main course was let down by really bad fries that were probably frozen and/or reheated and quite inedible, so disappointing espescially as they were charge extra for, very poor quality.
Otherwise an enjoyable meal.
Only marked down due to the terrible fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lassothemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing meal!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Called in here for lunch one day when visiting Edinburgh in December because we had read so many good reviews, and liked the look of the place. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, but the food was bland. I had beef casserole off the lunch time specials board and it was very ordinary, husband's venison burger lacked flavour. Only real positive was the cranachan dessert which was delicious. The most memorable thing about it was the entertainment provided by an American lady who complained long and loud about the Christmas song tape that was playing quietly in the background and demanded it be turned off because she didn't like having to listen to supermarket music while dining! The music played on and she eventually stopped complaining.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redqueen1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Howies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location, just off Grassmarket. Very local traditional Scottish menu, unusual ingredients like heather salad, Cullen and Skink. Attentive service, nice ambience and great value for money. You can even BYO and pay only £4 corkage.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Came across this place by accident whilst on our way to another restaurant on a recent trip to Edinburgh. Due to the rain and the fact we were running late we decided to eat here instead (we didn't have reservations either here or the place we were heading). We were greeted warmly and shown to a table in the part of the restaurant which houses the kitchen. We were sat quite near the pass which was quite hectic but also gave us a chance to see everything going out before making our choices. We were also helped to make our minds by the erudite and friendly waiting staff who seemed to do everything with effortless ease. It was my friend's birthday so we started with a couple glasses of prosecco. From here we both chose the lavendar marinated chicken salad with pine nuts and pancetta to start and were both glad we did. The salad full of rocket to counter the strong [yet balanced] lavendar and pancetta with the pine nuts seeming to add the finishing touch. For our mains I had the haggis, neeps and tatties which were delicious - the potatoes a luxury by themselves. Also, they'd obviously taken the time to source good haggis! My companion had the chicken and smoked ham pie which was all she had hoped for - plentiful, full of flavour and almost nostalgic in taste. All washed down with an Argentine Malbec from a decent, reasonably priced [predominantly new world] wine list. We didn't have desserts due to [lack of] time but we both said we bet we'd missed out. The bill arrived and i looked in disbelief at how little it was (we didn't realise there was a lunchtime offer).

All in all, this is an excellent restaurant with excellent staff and a no-nonsense approach to wholesome, flavoursome cooking. I ate out a lot on my recent trip to Edinburgh and it would be unfair to label Howies a good value restaurant because it's more than that - it's a great restaurant and thankfully suitable to most people's pockets. Support and enjoy this Grassmarket gem, it will be my first port of call next time i'm in Auld Reekie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LP_OF_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howies Victoria also viewed

 

Been to Howies Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing