We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hen party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hen party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in two apartments and were a party of 19 , we had a great time , fabulous apartment with loads of room even when we were all in the one apartment for "girls night in". great location within walking distance of most attractions, would highly recommend.!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DH1310, Director of Sales at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks for the great review.

The apartments are great for groups as they are huge and even with larger groups there's plenty of space.
With the huge walls as an old Georgian building they mean you can have fun without disturbing any other residents.

We also cater for families, work groups etc. and they seem to be suitable for all.

Glad you enjoyed the night in - its what apartments are great for as well.

Thanks again

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in 3 of the apartments in 20 York Place for a hen do at the end of February. We had the 2, 3 and 4 bedroomed apartments and all were lovely and very spacious; with great living room and kitchen spaces that meant we could all gather in one for food etc - ideal for groups split over different apartments. As others have commented they have been refurbished to a very high standard and they are really well equipped. Location is perfect for a little bit of shopping , sightseeing and nightlife. The apartment manager was really helpful on our arrival and made sure all the bedrooms were set up as we had requested. Also have to say the team at Destination Edinburgh (owners I think) were great beforehand and really helped to ensure we had a fantastic stay in the apartments. Excellent value for money and I would thoroughly recommend these apartments!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MH_M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DH1310, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Many thanks for the great review and I'm glad you had a fantastic time.

The apartments really tick alot of boxes for groups as they are superb for nights in or getting ready and are so central you can make use of all Edinburgh has to offer in terms of shopping, attractions and nightlife!

We really try to help all the way from the booking procedure to arrivals and all the way through stays to make sure you make the most of the apartments and the city as a whole.

We hope to see you all back as a group or with other family/friends in the future.

Thanks again

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The size of the apartment was excellent, with the 2 bedroom having plenty of room for 5 people, and a fully equipped kitchen. The location is great, just 5 minutes from the main shopping street and 10-15 mins from the castle and the Royal Mile.

It could do with at least one bathroom more. The apartment only had one bathroom, and with 5 of us in the morning was a bit of a queue, so if it had 2 bathrooms this place would be perfect. Also, the apartment manager could have pointed out that the cutlery drawer was hidden... it took us days to find it!

But apart from that it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were group of seven and had tonnes of room in 3 bedroom apartment. We're able to walk everywhere we wanted from great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rickenbacker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Just got back from a hen weekend in these fab apartments. We stayed in the 5 and 4 bedroom basement apartments. They were perfect - clean, great quality, nicely decorated and plenty of room for 17 of us. Living rooms, bathrooms, kitchens and bedrooms all spot on - great value for money and great location - would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise17051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DH1310, Director of Sales at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thanks for this great review.

We have tried to keep many of the nice features but make the property welcoming for groups as well as families and individuals.

I hope we will see you again in Edinburgh.

Thanks again

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

These apartments are within a beautiful Georgian building with many of the original features retained. No expense has been spared in the modernisation or design. We stayed in the 3 bed apartment but this could have easily slept ten people comfortably. From the cleanliness to the quality kitchen/bathrooms we literally could not find a fault.
These apartments are also conveniently located for the city centre- just 5 mins walk and handy for Waverley station. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mayorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the 3&4 bed apartment for 2 nights and had a fab time apartments are very modern clean well equipped and certainly have the wow factor we were all delighted!we even had an outdoor decked area.
Our only problem was the noise!!
.... Please be aware due to the apartments being on a busy road some of the bedrooms at the front of the property are on street level and are subject to noise from passers by late at night coming home from the local bars
Unfortunately keeping us awake... Shame the windows aren't more soundproofed a big over sight
I would certainly recommend ear plugs
This however was the only negative
Part of our stay
I would recommend this place but don't forget your ear plugs or sleep in the back of the apartments it was quiet there

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DH1310, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Many thanks for the positive response - we really value these.

The main road has taken on a lot more traffic since the tram work restarted in central Edinburgh - a lot more buses and general traffic pass this location for a short period at the moment.

We have addressed the problem on some of the floors and I think we have a solution for downstairs which we will put in asap.

Its a historic grade A building so we have restrictions but we will try and curb this short term noise.

Thanks again for the response and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments

Property: Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Address: 20 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP, Scotland (Formerly 20 York Place)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre on York Place, our apartments are ideal for larger groups and families looking for that little bit extra during their stay. A converted Georgian Townhouse, these apartments are all slightly different (keeping with the historic nature of the building) but all to a very high standard. The apartments feature multiple flat screen televisions, many en suite bath and shower rooms, huge lounges in each apartments as well as quality huge bedrooms (towels and linen included). The basement level has 2 apartments and they have a feature spiral staircase leading to the open plan kitchen/dining area and lounge and private landscaped outdoor area. The main door has 4 large apartments that were completely renovated with high quality fittings that really fit in with the historic nature of the building - a few of the lounges are huge and ideal for groups. With Harvey Nichols, Jenners of Edinburgh, and the boutiques of Multrees Walk close by the discerning city visitor can shop in style by day and sample the bars and restaurants of George Street by night. The Castle and the very popular Edinburgh Playhouse are within walking distance. The brand new tram system will take you directly from the airport to the door of our 20 York Place Apartments! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing