We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff and very good value”
Review of Bond no 9 - CLOSED

Bond no 9
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Dram awards Gastro pub of the year 2012, Bronze award winner.This Bar and Restaurant prides itself on fresh, quality produce served in a relaxed bar/bistro environment. You can choose to either eat in the raised dining area or go for a more relaxed dining experience at one of the poseur tables in the centre of the bar, or the comfortable sofas in both the alcove and conservatory areas.The bar itself is a converted whisky bond, and still features the original wooden beams. Lending itself to a relaxed intimate atmosphere with live music and DJs across Thursday to Saturday.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff and very good value”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Four of us dined here in the evening. The food was really tasty with fresh ingredients and very nicely presented. We found the menu to be very good value for what you got. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made you feel at home. I'd definitely recommend this place for a meal or a drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    57
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“did not want to leave there”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

absolutely relaxing with a lot of character, helpful staff and the best prawn and noodle dish i have ever tasted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nat123uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Family celebration lunch on a Sunday. Easy to park. Brilliant service, very polite & attentive yet non intrusive. Had a few mini snacks to share to start, very tasty. Then ordered a selection of main courses including the all day breakfast. Great quality meat with not a spot of grease. Nice poached egg and chunky slice wholemeal toast. Fish and chips excellent, fresh fish. Steak excellent. And my dad enjoyed his thai curry. Had coffee in the conservatory/sofa area. Pleasant backround music not too loud but added to relaxed ambience. All in all a great lunch out, reasonably priced especially with the 20% discount key fob in relaxed surroundings. Will b back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“great as always”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

i am writing yet another positive review for here as we visit often but only allowed to review every so often. We nearly always eat when we are here as the menu is always changing with new meals to try. The staff are the friendliest staff you can find , we never have had a bad experience here. They specialise in cocktails as well and you always hear the shakers in action. Tourists, if you are anywhere in the shore in Leith dont miss this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We will be back - excellent afternoon! 24th June 2013”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited Bond 9 for the first time today. An impromptu birthday celebration for my friend Linda who loves cocktails! Read the reviews on Trip Adviser and decided it would be a good idea for lunch and a lazy afternoon. Perfect choice! The service was excellent as was the extensive selection of cocktails ranging from the familiar to off the wall. We had the Passion Fruit and Chilli daiquiri, a Raspberry daiquiri, Mary's Green Monk and Summer of All Fears - absolutely delicious!. And if you're undecided fear not, there's lots of helpful suggestions from the very professional and friendly staff. Neil and Scott served us the drinks and lunch today. Both of us shared a starter of yummy home made hummus and warm pitta, followed by a perfectly cooked, absolutely delicious rib eye steak with crisp golden chips and a fresh green salad. This was followed by hot fragrant cappuccinos and a leisurely afternoon spent in comfortable, relaxed surroundings. A final word to the wise...take advantage of the 'key ring offer'. £10 will buy you the Bond 9 keyring which entitles you to 20% off all food and drinks from Sunday - Wednesday .....money well
spent I suggest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bond no 9 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing