We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Ranked #98 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and reasonably priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed for one night on business. Great location at one end of princes St. Rooms quite basic but comfortable, but very little space to work in.
Bed was comfortable and slept well. Didn't have breakfast although included in my price so can't comment on the food.
Price was reasonable - but corporate rate, so not sure I would have been happy paying more.

Overall, for what I wanted it was fine, but I would be disappointed as a tourist staying here for longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drpconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your recent review of Thistle Edinburgh, King James.

I am please to hear you had a good night's sleep, we do have lots of different size rooms in the hotel and although you don’t say which room you stayed in, it sounds like you may have been booked into a smaller one. Lots of our rooms have plenty of space and lots of room to work in, so I would like to think if you were coming back here on a non-work trip that you may consider these options, as I am sure you would see a difference and enjoy your stay. Also, as you say its a fantastic location, very close to everything Edinburgh has to offer, so really good for people visiting and wanting to explore the city.
It’s a shame that you didn’t stay for breakfast as we have had great feedback about our variety and choice of foods

Thank you again for your comments and I hope that we will see you again soon at Thistle Edinburgh, King James

Kind regards


Jo

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    606
    340
    92
    50
See reviews for
154
677
69
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We found this hotel to be very convenient as it was located in the city center and very close to city parks and pedestrian streets. As we are light sleepers, we requested a back facing room on a higher floor and were given one and we had no street noise problems. Hotel was part of a Gate1Travel tour starting in London and including Bath, Liverpool, Edinburgh, Inverness, Fort William, and Glascow. All hotels were very good and excellent tour directors, motorcoach and drivers, excursions, meals, transfers, and reasonably priced. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Back facing room on higher floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Thistle Edinburgh, king James Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here as part of the group tour. We are very central to everything Edinburgh has to offer including shops, parks, Princes Street gardens and of course the main attractions, such as Edinburgh Castle.
We will always try to accommodate guest requests if we can and back facing rooms can be a common request in city centre hotels

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon at Thistle Edinburgh King James

Kind regards

Jo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. Right in centre of city, very close to new tram line from airport. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor a little dated, but rooms clean and free wi-fi of a good speed. Only had breakfast in hotel, and this was fine. Only grumble was noise from street throughout the night, even with double glazing. Would suggest asking for room at rear of hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John1965_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Reviewer

Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Thistle King James. I'm delighted you enjoyed our central location and service standards on your trip, and got to try out the new trams in the city!

Unfortunately some of our street facing rooms can be a little noisy like any bustling city centre, if given the opportunity and if we have availability we would always try and locate to the back of the hotel if the noise is an issue

Thanks again for your feedback

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Just left after two nights and not very impressed. I chose this hotel as a member of Thistle's loyalty programme and thought with it being in Edinburgh it would be upmarket. Was I wrong! Got a room upgrade and it was tiny so dread to think what a standard room is like. Toilet hardly flushed. A saving grace was that the room was at the back so it was quiet at least until the party people came back and then all the noise started. The walls were so thin you could hear people in the next room talking. I've stayed in the Thistle in Aberdeen and even with rowdy offshore workers you never heard a thing. This hotel is not a patch on Glasgow Thistle and I very much doubt I would consider staying there again. Staff were OK. One final thing, it's a hotel in Scotland, sell Tennents!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Reviewer

Thanks you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm just as disappointed as you are that you didn't enjoy our stay with us. All the hotels throughout the thistle estate have their own unique selling points and I would agree that Glasgow and Aberdeen are great properties. I do however feel that what we lack from a building prospective we certainly make up in location and service.

Thanks for the feedback it is invaluable in helping us raise the standards throughout the hotel

Thanks

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here two nights whilst with a tour group. Check in and hotel was provided quickly. I had a single room with a king sized bed, there was adequate space, although the ensuite was compact. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The window had a curtain and blind which was handy with the longer summer days. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good, as was the in house cabaret evening. I would recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Reviewer

Thank you for your excellent feedback of our King James hotel. Its great to receive such a review and I am glad we added to your stay in Edinburgh, our Scottish evening is the longest running Scottish cabaret show in Edinburgh and it continues to draw great crowds each night.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Generally excellent. Arrived very late on bicycles and the friendly and helpful staff stored them inside for us. Decided to eat in the restaurant, which was excellent value for money. Breakfast was very good, except the croissants ran out! The position right in the centre and near the station is very good. Wood definitely stay there again. Only negative was we paid more for an executive double, which felt more like a standard room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatingAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Reviewer

Thank you for the feedback of the Thistle King James. Its great that you enjoyed your stay and found our food and beverage offering to be of a high standard, we have recently launched our new breakfast and dinner menus and both are receiving great feedback

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
326 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The King James was a mixed bag of qualities. Having stayed there three nights, I think we got a fair idea of the service and amenities offered. Certainly, the location is ideal, within walking distance of the Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile, and a little further to Edinburgh Castle and the National Museum of Scotland (a must see!). The hotel is part of the King James Shopping Centre with an entrance/exit right from the third floor of the hotel into the mall.

Our hotel room - and the hotel- itself were impressively clean, the front desk was helpful with providing an adaptor, there was a good Wi-Fi connection and there were such amenities as an in-room safe and an iron with ironing board. There was also a desk, two additional tub chairs for comfortable seating and an upright armoire in the room. It was also great to have coffee-making facilities available, with delicious shortbread cookies.

Emphatically, this is the best breakfast that was provided in our travels through Great Britain... delicious eggs, meats of various varieties, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, cold meats, fish, cheeses, juices, tea and coffee, and pastries that we longed for after our return home. First class!

There were also things that we didn't like, in terms of convenience. The bathrooms were small and the taps were so close to the edge of the sink that they were difficult to get your hands under without splashing water hither and yon. On the upside, there was a good sized shower head, and the lighting was one of the best seen in our travels. The hairdryer was not in the bathroom where you might expect, but attached inside the drawer of the desk area. There was no lotion or hair conditioner as part of the usual toiletries.

The bed was very uncomfortable (not enough padding), but the bedding was wonderful. Great towels, but half were in the closet and not readily available. There was no air conditioning, just a hot water wall heater, and an overhead fan. The window did open, and there was a light-blocking blind. The worst part was the street noise, even on the 5th floor, even with the window shut. You could hear each vehicle going by, people talking.... you would think you were on the 1st or 2nd floor.

As much as it is a convenience to have the King James Shopping Centre as part of the hotel complex, it was disappointing that the mall closes at 8 pm, so you can not eat or shop there after that time, and you can no longer access the hotel from the mall entrance. As well, there are few places in the shopping centre that serve food... though there are many great cafes, fast food places and restaurants within a couple of blocks of the hotel, outside the Centre. We had planned to eat in the hotel one night, and arrived at the restaurant (on the 3rd floor) to see that many tables were full with people holding menus, but nothing was happening. One staff member was on a ladder changing a light bulb, and another had dashed in to fetch something on the sideboard unrelated to table service. After 10 minutes we left and ate elsewhere.

The 110 plug in the bathroom did not work on our arrival, which we reported to Bubhash at the front desk. It seemed like someone would check on it right away (in fact, I had written a note to myself about the great service). However, each day... right until the 4th day of checkout, we made inquiries about the plug, and it seemed less and less of a priority. To visitors from North America it is an important amenity, especially when you have to charge several electronics, and/or prefer to shave in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, perhaps away from the street if you are bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluePointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
HI Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a well thought out review, it will certainly help me to raise the standard within the hotel further. On the whole I am gald you enjoyed your stay and our Breakfast offering including our delicious home made pastries!

I will pick up with the team regarding the adapter issues as this should have been dealt with right away and we normally have adapters stocked for guests such as yourself. Our beds have recently been replaced and this worries me that you did not find there comfort levels to be right, I will certainly feed this back to our suppliers.

Thank you again for the excellent feedback and I hope you enjoyed Edinburgh

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#103 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Property: Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Address: 107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King James is located just off Edinburgh’s world-famous Princes Street, and a short walk from the Royal Mile. Whether you’re here for work or pleasure, the Fringe or to see in the New Year, you’re guaranteed a warm Scottish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King James, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
King James By Thistle Edinburgh
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing