We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #71 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value but basic”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

For a hotel at this price this close to the centre, you can't expect luxury. The rooms were clean and comfortable, obviously converted from what had once been quite grand houses, and it was great to be able to walk everywhere we wanted to go easily. However, a basement room will not be to everyone's taste, and the stairs down to it were quite steep. The rooms we had were in the Annex which is the opposite side of the road from the breakfast room in the main hotel; slightly irritating when it is raining. The hotel parking (£10 extra) (which only accommodates about 6 cars) would be a very tight squeeze if it was full. However, they were happy for us to check out of the rooms but leave the car in the park until later in the day while we explored Edinburgh. Overall, for a short stay at a good price, recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    454
    196
    77
    63
See reviews for
165
446
166
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spotlessly clean room, excellent location for the Playhouse Theatre, 5 minute walk to Waverley Station.
Yes, it's a bit dated but for the price we paid we were more than happy with what we got.
Would defo stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imagoodgirliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night as Edinburgh was as close as I could get to home on the train that night.
Booked it on line with ebookers.com and when we arrived at this lovely old fashioned building in the city centre we where greeted by Stewart who most helpfully told us that he's got no such reservation from ebookers.com !
After a few phone calls and Stewart giving Ebookers.com a "piece of his mind"
we where given a room which was clean and tidy, nothing fancy
hot shower, warm bed, tricky window to operate, but overall a nice place to rest and change before carrying on with my journey.
If I ever get stuck in Edinburgh again and want a clean cheap room I'll stay here,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothervaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you need a value for money room in Edinburgh and you are no prima donna then this is the place. On the plus side, its clean with crisp white linen, its cheap, it's 7 mins walk from Waverley Station. On the negative side, its dated, it lacks ambiance, but let's face it you don't come to Edinburgh to sit in a hotel - get out and walk around, enjoy the history. Its cheerful and the staff are accommodating. In summary great value for money, but I wouldn;t take my girlfriend there for a romantic night, its not there to impress, its functional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location is really good, I could easily walk everywhere. The hotel certainly needs some renovation, but the room wasn't dirty, either. My room (1st floor) was small, but high. There were new tea bags + coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room every day - which was good because when I booked that room online I got an impression that breakfast was included, which wasn't so.
The staff was not especially helpful. I wouldn't stay there again, but it was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaikaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night and that was more than enough.
As there were no double rooms left we stayed in a family with four beds in it. When we finally got to the room (lots of random doors) the lock on the door was very old, when we got into the room it was so hot we tried to open the window but it could not be opened.

The bathroom was very clean and adequate for our stay. The problems started when we tried to look for plug sockets and only found two that were already been used, but to get one of them working we had to wiggle the wires (not safe at all)
The kettle provided barely worked and took forever to boil.

Looking around the room to get ready to go out there was no mirror anywhere, no where to plug a hair dryer in (hair dryers not provided so take your own) I opened a door and found willy straws probably left over from a hen do (but this is supposed to be a family room) obviously not checked before hand.

When we got in and tried to go to sleep the room was extermly hot and the beds were so uncomfortable you could feel every spring. The walls are so thin you can hear everyone coming in and making noise

The only good thing is its location but they're are just as nice hotels in town at the same price (we had to stay here as we booked so late and everywhere was booked)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i requested a quiet room, and got 105 - in the basement - but it suited me just fine. had a long soak every evening in the lovely bathroom. front desk staff were very welcoming, and housekeeping made sure i had enough hot chocolate, coffee and biscuits to keep me through the nights. location is just off the main road, but close enough that i could walk and enjoy the city and the genuine friendliness of the scottish people

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artstung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#77 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing